SAG Awards TV winners: ‘Boardwalk Empire,’ ‘Modern Family’

The SAG Awards for TV played out like a rerun of last year, as five of the six series winners were repeats. (Full list of winners here and film report here)


Modern Family” won just one of its leading five SAG Awards but it was a big one — Best Comedy Ensemble. To repeat in that category, the show beat 2008 winner “30 Rock,” “The Big Bang Theory,” 2009 champ “Glee” and two-time winner “The Office” (2006, 2007). 

Alec Baldwin won Comedy Actor for the sixth consecutive year in a row. Add those to his 2008 ensemble win and he has seven of these trophies, thus breaking his tie with Anthony Edwards (“ER”). Indeed, Baldwin has yet to lose an individual bid for playing Jack Donaghy on “30 Rock.” This year, he defeated: Steve Carell who departed “The Office” last spring, this year’s and last Emmy supporting champs Ty Burrell and Eric Stonestreet (“Modern Family”) and Jon Cryer, a surprise nominee for “Two and a Half Men“; he’s been nominated for six Emmys winning once, but this was his first nomination from the Guild. Reigning two-time Emmy champ Jim Parsons (“The Big Bang Theory”) was snubbed. 

Betty White (“Hot in Cleveland“) repeated as Comedy Actress. She prevailed over three-time titleholder Tina Fey (“30 Rock”), 2010 Emmy winner Edie Falco (“Nurse Jackie“), 2011 Supporting Emmy winner Julie Bowen (“Modern Family”) and her castmate Sofia Vergara. Reigning lead Emmy champ Melissa McCarthy (“Mike and Molly”) was snubbed here though she picked up two Film nods for “Bridesmaids.”  

Boardwalk Empire” won its second straight Drama Ensemble award defeating “Breaking Bad,” “Dexter,” “Game of Thrones,” and “The Good Wife” who were all looking for their first win in the category. “Thrones” and “Bad” were nominated for the first time, while “Good Wife” made its third appearance and “Dexter” its fourth. Reigning four-time Emmy victor “Mad Men” didn’t air any new episodes during the eligibility period.


Golden Globe winner Jessica Lange of “American Horror Story” won Drama Actress on her first bid. This supporting player defeated reigning two-time champ Julianna Margulies (“The Good Wife”) as well as a trio of other leading ladies: Kathy Bates (“Harry’s Law”), Glenn Close, whose legal drama “Damages” returned on DirecTV this year after being cancelled by FX, and Kyra Sedgwick, nominated for the seventh consecutive time for “The Closer.”

Steve Buscemi (“Boardwalk Empire”) won Drama Actor for the second year in a row defeating reigning Emmy champ Kyle Chandler (“Friday Night Lights“), three-time Emmy winner Bryan Cranston (“Breaking Bad”), 2009 SAG winner Michael C. Hall (“Dexter”) and rookie nominee Patrick J. Adams (“Suits”). 

Kate Winslet picked up a SAG Award to join the Emmy she won for her performance in the miniseries “Mildred Pierce.” Among those she defeated in this combined category was Supporting Emmy winner Maggie Smith (“Downton Abbey”). Paul Giamatti (“Too Big to Fail”), who lost the Emmy Supporting race to Guy Pearce (“Mildred Pierce”), defeated him here. Lead Emmy champ Barry Pepper (“The Kennedys”) was snubbed. This marks the fourth SAG win out of five bids by Giamatti. 

More News from GoldDerby