‘Argo’ and ‘Silver Linings Playbook’ win ACE Eddie Awards

As our odds predicted, “Argo” and “Silver Linings Playbook” won the America Cinema Editors’ ACE Eddie Awards in the drama and comedy categories.

While both films are nominated for best editing at the Oscars, the edge usually goes to the drama, of course, so this guild victory further establishes “Argo” as the academy frontrunner. That, in turn, bolsters its hope of winning the top Oscar since the awards for Best Editing and Picture seem to be reliably and mysteriously linked.

Eighteen of our 21 experts are predicting “Argo” to win Best Editing at the Oscars while just three are backing the bid by “Zero Dark Thirty.” That support for “Argo,” along with those of seven of our editors and 80% of users, gives it leading odds of 8/5 to win the cutting prize. And with all but one of our experts and editors predicting it to win Best Picture, it has odds of 27/10 (over “Lincoln” at 5/1) to take home the top award too. 

-ADDPREDICTION:85:17:Click to predict Best Editing Oscar:ADDPREDICTION-

Brave” demolished frontrunner “Wreck-It Ralph” for Best Animated Feature Film. That upset, along with a similar victory at the Cinema Audio Society kudos Saturday, could mean we have a real contest for Best Animated Feature at the Oscars. 

Following up past victories at the PGA, DGA and IDA, “Searching for Sugar Man” took Best Documentary. 

Here’s the full list of ACE Eddie Champs:

Best Edited Feature Film – Dramatic
William Goldenberg, A.C.E.

Best Edited Feature Film – Comedy/Musical
Silver Linings Playbook
Jay Cassidy, A.C.E. and Crispin Struthers

Best Edited Feature Film – Animated
Nicholas C. Smith, A.C.E. & Robert Grahamjones, A.C.E

Best Edited Documentary – Feature
Searching for Sugar Man
Malik Bendjelloul

Best Edited Documentary – Television
“American Masters: Phil Ochs – There But For Fortune”
Pamela Scott Arnold

Best Edited Half-Hour Series for Television
“Nurse Jackie” – “Handle Your Scandal”
Gary Levy

Best Edited One-Hour Series for Commercial Television
“Breaking Bad” – “Gliding Over All”
Skip MacDonald, A.C.E.

Best Edited One-Hour Series for Non-Commercial Television
“The Newsroom” – “We Just Decided To (Pilot)”
Anne McCabe, A.C.E.

Best Edited Miniseries or Motion Picture for Television
“Hemingway & Gellhorn”
Walter Murch, A.C.E.

Best Edited Non-Scripted Series
“Frozen Planet” – “To the Ends of the Earth”
Andy Netley & Sharon Gillooly

Golden Eddie (Filmmaker of the Year Award)
Steven Spielberg

Lifetime Achievement Award
Richard Marks, A.C.E.
Larry Silk, A.C.E.

Student Competition
Michael Smith – AFI

More News from GoldDerby