‘Starred Up’ leads British Independent Film Awards nominations

“Starred Up” — a drama about a rowdy young prison inmate who meets his dad behind bars — leads with the most nominations at the British Independent Film Awards, scoring eight, including bids for Best Picture, Director (David Mackenzie), Actor (Jack O’Connell) and Supporting Actors (Rupert Friend, Ben Mendelsohn). In second place with seven noms is “The Selfish Giant.”

Among the oddities in the lineup: “Philomena” reaped bids for Best Picture, Actress (Judi Dench), Actor (Steve Coogan) and Screenplay, but Stephen Frears got snubbed in the directors’ category.

And the star of “The Invisible Woman,” Ralph Fiennes, can’t be seen in the lead actors’ lineup.

Best British Independent Film
“Metro Manila”
“The Selfish Giant”
“Starred Up”
“Le Week-End”

Best Director
Jon S. Baird (“Filth”)
Clio Barnard (“The Selfish Giant”)
Sean Ellis (“Metro Manila”)
Jonathan Glazer (“Under the Skin”)
David MacKenzie (“Starred Up”)

Best Actor
Jim Broadbent (“Le Week-End”)
Steve Coogan (“Philomena”)
Tom Hardy (“Locke”)
James McAvoy (“Filth”)
Jack O’Connell (“Starred Up”)

Best Actress
Judi Dench (“Philomena”)
Lindsay Duncan (“Le Week-End”)
Scarlett Johansson (“Under the Skin”)
Felicity Jones (“The Invisible Woman”)
Saoirse Ronan (“How I Live Now”)

Best Supporting Actor
John Arcilla (“Metro Manila”)
Rupert Friend (“Starred Up”)
Jeff Goldblum (“Le Week-End”)
Eddie Marsan (“Filth”)
Ben Mendelsohn (“Starred Up”)

Best Supporting Actress
Siobhan Finneran (“The Selfish Giant”)
Shirley Henderson (“Filth”)
Imogen Poots (“The Look of Love”)
Kristin Scott Thomas (“The Invisible Woman”)
Mia Wasikowska (“The Double”)

Best Screenplay
Jonathan Asser (“Starred Up”)
Clio Barnard (“The Selfish Giant”)
Steve Coogan and Jeff Pope (“Philomena”)
Steven Knight (“Locke”)
Hanif Kureishi (“Le Week-End”)

Best Technical Achievement
Shaheen Baig – casting (“Starred Up”)
Johnnie Burn – sound design (“Under the Skin”)
Amy Hubbard – casting (“The Selfish Giant”)
Mica Levi – music (“Under the Skin”)
Justine Wright – editing (“Locke”)

Best Documentary
“The Great Hip Hop Hoax”
“The Moo Man”
“Pussy Riot – A Punk Prayer”
“The Spirit of ’45”
“The Stone Roses: Made of Stone”

Best International Independent Film
“Blue Is the Warmest Color”
“Blue Jasmine”
“Frances Ha”
“The Great Beauty”

Best Debut Director
Charlie Cattrall (“Titus”)
Tina Gharavi (“I Am Nasrine”)
Jeremy Lovering (“In Fear”)
Omid Nooshin (“Last Passenger”)
Paul Wright (“For Those in Peril”)

Most Promising Newcomer
Harley Bird (“How I Live Now”)
Conner Chapman and Shaun Thomas (“The Selfish Giant”)
Caity Lotz (“The Machine”)
Jake Macapagal (“Metro Manila”)
Chloe Pirre (“Shell”)

Best Achievement in Production
“A Field in England”
“Metro Manila”
“The Selfish Giant”
“Starred Up”

The Raindance Award
“Everyone’s Going to Die”
“The Machine”
“The Patrol”
“Sleeping Dogs”

Best British Short
“Dr. Easy”
“Dylan’s Room”

More News from GoldDerby