‘Young and the Restless’ and CBS dominate Daytime Emmy nominations

The Young and the Restless” leads the Daytime Emmy nominations with a whopping 23 bids, including Best Drama. The top-rated soap contributes almost half of the CBS network’s 50 total nominations, more than any other network. (For the complete list of nominations, click here.)

But it’s not the only soap opera to celebrate victory this year. In fact, all five eligible soaps — “The Bold and the Beautiful,” “Days of Our Lives,” “General Hospital,” and “One Life to Live” along with “Y&R” — earned nominations for Best Drama.

Of those shows, “GH” came in second, earning 19 nominations overall. “Days” picked up 17, which ties the NBC sudser with Daytime Emmy staple “Sesame Street.” “B&B” earned 15.

“OLTL,” which aired only nine episodes in 2012 before it was cancelled by ABC, earned only three nominations (also: Writing Team and Camera Editing). But the series will get a chance to compete in some capacity next year; it recently returned as a daily internet series along with “All My Children,” which didn’t air any new episodes in 2012 and thus was ineligible for these awards.

The top talk show was “The Ellen DeGeneres Show,” which picked up 10 bids including Best Entertainment Talk Show, Directing, and Special Class Writing.

Host Ellen DeGeneres no longer enters herself for consideration as Best Talk Show Host, where returning nominees Anderson Cooper (“Anderson“), Mehmet Oz (“The Dr. Oz Show“), and Rachael Ray (“Rachael Ray”) are joined by newcomers Steve Harvey (“Steve Harvey”) and Ricki Lake (“The Ricki Lake Show”‘). This is the first-ever nomination for Harvey, but Lake was nominated for her previous talk show back in 1994.

Regis Philbin and Kelly Ripa won the award last year for Philbin’s farewell season, but Ripa was not nominated this year with her new co-host Michael Strahan. However, their show, “Live with Kelly and Michael,” was nominated for Best Entertainment Talk Show.

In addition to his Talk Show Host nomination, Steve Harvey also earned a bid for Best Game Show Host for “Family Feud.” He’s joined by Ben Bailey (“Cash Cab“), Wayne Brady (“Let’s Make a Deal”), Billy Eichner (“Funny or Die’s Billy on the Street”), Alex Trebek (“Jeopardy“). Last year’s winner in that category, “Family Game Night‘s” Todd Newton, was snubbed.


More News from GoldDerby