Creative Arts Emmys trivia: ‘SNL’ sets record, first wins for all guest performers

Saturday Night Live” is now the all-time Emmy leader among series. It picked up three more trophies (Art Direction, Hairstyling, Makeup) for a record haul of 39 Emmys over 38 seasons. The previous leader was “Frasier,” which prevailed 37 times in 11 seasons. “SNL” has four more opportunities at the upcoming Primetime Emmys ceremony (Variety Series, Variety Directing, Variety Writing, Comedy Supporting Actor).

However, “SNL” was snubbed in the guest acting comedy categories for the first since it was allowed to enter these in 2009 as Louis C.K.Justin TimberlakeMelissa McCarthy, and Kristen Wiig all lost. 

All four of this year’s guest acting Emmy champs — Dan Bucatinsky (“Scandal“), Melissa Leo (“Louie“), Bob Newhart (“The Big Bang Theory“), and Carrie Preston (“The Good Wife“) — are first time winners. Since the Emmys started offering four guest categories in 1989, this is the first time all four have been rookies at the podium.

At 84, Newhart is the oldest actor to ever win a guest Emmy. He is the second oldest person overall, trailing behind Betty White, who was 88 when she won in 2010 for “Saturday Night Live“.

Nathan Lane (“Modern Family“) has racked up four losses for Best Comedy Guest Actor. That ties him with Will Arnett (“30 Rock) and Fred Willard (“Everybody Loves Raymond,” “Modern Family”).

Michael J. Fox (“The Good Wife,” “Boston Legal”) and Robert Morse (“Mad Men“) are now tied for the record for most losses for Best Drama Guest Actor with four.

One actress from “The Good Wife” has won an Emmy in each of its four seasons on the air: (Archie Panjabi, 2010; Julianna Margulies, 2011; Martha Plimpton, 2012; Preston, 2013).

Behind the Candelabra” won eight of its nine bids at the Creative Arts. If it takes all five races at the Primetime ceremony, that would tie it with “John Adams” for the most Emmys won by a TV Movie or Miniseries. “Eleanor and Franklin” holds the record for a telefilm (not miniseries) with 11 Emmys, so three more wins for “Candelabra” would tie it and four would take the lead.

Oscar winners who now have their first Emmys are Danny Boyle (“London 2012 Olympic Games Opening Ceremony”), Mychael Danna (“World Without End”), Alex Gibney (“Mea Maxima Culpa: Silence in the House of God”), Melissa Leo (“Louie”), and Steven Soderbergh (aka Mary Ann Bernard, “Behind the Candelabra”).

The first Emmys ever awarded to nonlinear (streaming) programming went to Netflix for “House of Cards” (casting, cinematography).

Lily Tomlin won her first ever performance Primetime Emmy for her voiceover work on “An Apology to Elephants.” She had previously prevailed three times as a writer and twice as a producer of variety specials.

Kennedy Center Honors” has now won Best Variety Special five consecutive years. It is the ninth overall victory in this category.

The Tony Awards has prevailed as Best Special Class Program for four consecutive years and five of the past six.

After 16 Emmy nominations, “Inside the Actors Studio” finally won for the first time as Best Informational Series.

Sheila Nevins took home two more Emmys, bringing her career total to 25 trophies and extending her record. She was an executive producer of “Manhunt: The Inside Story of the Hunt for Bin Ladin” and “Mea Maxima Culpa: Silence in the House of God.”

South Park” has now won Best Animated Program four times since 2005.

30 Rock” claimed its first Emmy Award since 2009 with a win for Best Comedy Casting.

The Big Bang Theory” won its first Creative Arts Emmys with its trophies for Best Technical Direction and Newhart. Its only previous victories were for Jim Parsons as Best Comedy Actor in 2010 and 2011.

What show will win the Emmy as Best Comedy Series? Use the easy drag-and-drop menu below to make your predictions?

More News from GoldDerby