Emmy fun facts and trivia: Drama Series

As a four-time Best Drama Series Emmy champ, “Mad Men” is tied with “Hill Street Blues,” “L.A. Law,” and “The West Wing” for the most wins. 

Reigning champ “Homeland” marked the first-ever series win for Showtime last year.

Last year and this were the first that snubbed broadcast networks shows as nominees.

The last two Drama Series that won without a directing or writing nomination were “Law and Order” (1997) and “The Practice” (1999). For 2013, “Mad Men” is the only nominee with no directing or writing nominations.

If “Breaking Bad” wins its first Emmy as Best Drama Series this year, it will be for its fifth season. The other shows to win the first time for a fifth season were “The Sopranos” (2004) and “24” (2006).

“Mad Men” is only the second show to win Best Drama Series and yet never win an acting award. The other was “The Fugitive” (1966), which only claimed the top prize once.

House of Cards” is the first show nominated for a series Emmy from a streaming website, rather than a traditional broadcast or cable network.

Actors Bryan Cranston (“Breaking Bad”), Jon Hamm (“Mad Men”), and Kevin Spacey (“House of Cards”) are also nominated as producers in the Best Drama Series category this year.

RELATED: Emmy fun facts & trivia – Drama Actress

Most Drama Series wins (4): “Hill Street Blues,” “L.A. Law,” “Mad Men,” “The West Wing.”

Most Drama Series nominations (11): “Law and Order.”

Most Drama Series nominations with no wins (6): “St. Elsewhere.”

Most overall nominations for a drama series in one year (27): “NYPD Blue” (1994).

Most career wins for a drama series (27): “The West Wing.”

Most career nominations for a drama series (124): “E.R.”

Emmy career nominations and wins for 2013 contenders: “Mad Men” (15 wins; 97 noms), “Downton Abbey” (9 wins; 39 noms), “Game of Thrones” (8 wins; 40 noms), “Breaking Bad” (7 wins; 42 noms), “Homeland” (6 wins, 20 noms), “House of Cards” (0 wins, 9 noms).

Use our easy drag-and-drop menu below to make your predictions for Drama Series.

More News from GoldDerby