Jim Parsons (‘The Big Bang Theory’) wins third Emmy as Best Comedy Actor

Jim Parsons (“The Big Bang Theory“) won his third Emmy Award as Best Comedy Actor at the 65th annual ceremony Sunday night.

With previous wins in 2010 and 2011, it puts him in the company of four other three-time champs: Don Adams (“Get Smart”), John Lithgow (“3rd Rock from the Sun”), Tony Shalhoub (“Monk”), and Dick Van Dyke (“The Dick Van Dyke Show”).

And he is now just one win away from the all-time record of four victories in this category held by: Michael J. Fox (“Family Ties,” “Spin City”), Kelsey Grammer (“Frasier”), and Carroll O’Connor (“All in the Family”).

His episode submission this year to the judging panel was “The Habitation Configuration.” He defeated Alec Baldwin (“30 Rock“), Jason Bateman (“Arrested Development“), Don Cheadle (“House of Lies“), Louis C.K. (“Louie“), and Matt LeBlanc (“Episodes“).

Watch Gold Derby’s interview with Parsons from earlier this summer.

More News from GoldDerby