Julia Louis-Dreyfus (‘Veep’) breaks Emmy curse to repeat as Best Comedy Actress

Julia Louis-Dreyfus (“Veep“) has broken a 12-year Emmy curse Sunday night to repeat as the Best Comedy Actress champ. The last person to win consecutive Emmys in this category was Patricia Heaton (“Everybody Loves Raymond,” 2000 and 2001).

Louis-Dreyfus also prevailed in 2006 for a different leading role on “The New Adventures of Old Christine” and last year for playing the Vice President. Other than her, the category has been distinguished by a variety of winning ladies: Jennifer Aniston (“Friends,” 2002), Debra Messing (“Will and Grace,” 2003), Sarah Jessica Parker (“Sex and the City,” 2004), Felicity Huffman (“Desperate Housewives,” 2005), America Ferrara (“Ugly Betty,” 2007), Tina Fey (“30 Rock,” 2008), Toni Collette (“United States of Tara,” 2009), Edie Falco (“Nurse Jackie,” 2010), and Melissa McCarthy (“Mike and Molly,” 2011).

She is also the overall leader in Emmy history for comedy performance nominations with 14. Next in line are Lucille Ball (13), Cloris Leachman (12), and Mary Tyler Moore (11). These totals do not include nods for dramas, movies, or producing.

With three lead wins, Louis-Dreyfus is two behind the all-time leaders as Best Comedy Actress: Candice Bergen (“Murphy Brown”) and Mary Tyler Moore (“The Dick Van Dyke Show,” “The Mary Tyler Moore Show”).

Her episode submission this year to the judging panel was “Running.” She defeated Laura Dern (“Enlightened“), Lena Dunham (“Girls“), Falco, Fey, and Amy Poehler (“Parks and Recreation“).

Watch our Gold Derby interview with Louis-Dreyfus from this summer.

More News from GoldDerby