You decide: Who will win this year’s Emmy Awards?

Last year’s Emmys showcased both several surprise winners (“Homeland,” Damian Lewis, Jon Cryer) and a slew of returning favorites (“Modern Family,” Claire Danes, Julia Louis-Dreyfus).

With all of those champs as well as so many other familiar contenders and hot newcomers in the running this year, who will make the cut when Emmy nominations are announced on July 18?

Log in to your account or sign in using Facebook and make your predictions now. We have lots of info online to help you narrow these fields down to just five or six nominees per category. Rank them in the order of their likelihood to win and earn bragging rights that you were the first to forecast these victories. 

Last year, “Homeland” shocked with its win for Best Drama Series in 2012. It returns to defend its crown, and all five of its competitors are again eligible: “Boardwalk Empire,” “Breaking Bad,” “Downton Abbey,” “Game of Thrones,” and four-time winner “Mad Men.” Other strong bets are “The Americans,” “The Good Wife,” “House of Cards,” “Nashville,” and “The Newsroom.”

Lewis was part of that “Homeland” sweep, surprising as Best Drama Actor. He could contend again against three-time champ Bryan Cranston (“Breaking Bad”), Hugh Bonneville (“Downton Abbey”), Steve Buscemi (“Boardwalk Empire”), Michael C. Hall (“Dexter“), and Jon Hamm (“Mad Men”). And watch out for Kevin Bacon (“The Following“), Jeff Daniels (“The Newsroom”), Jonny Lee Miller (“Elementary“), Timothy Olyphant (“Justified“), and Kevin Spacey (“House of Cards”).

Danes (“Homeland”) was a lock last year for Best Drama Actress. She defeated Kathy Bates (“Harry’s Law”), Glenn Close (“Damages“), Michelle Dockery (“Downton Abbey”), Julianna Margulies (“The Good Wife”), and Elisabeth Moss (“Mad Men”). All but Bates could return this year to contend again. Other possibilities are Connie Britton (“Nashville”), Mariska Hargitay (“Law and Order: Special Victims Unit”), Debra Messing (“Smash“), Emily Mortimer (“The Newsroom”), Keri Russell (“The Americans”), Kerry Washington (“Scandal“), and Robin Wright (“House of Cards”).

For the third consecutive year, “Modern Family” won as Best Comedy Series. That ABC laffer returns to the 2013 race, along with four of its competitors: “The Big Bang Theory,” “Girls,” “30 Rock,” and “Veep.” The sixth nominee, “Curb Your Enthusiasm,” is not eligible this time due to no new episodes. Others to consider this time around are the return of previous champ “Arrested Development,” “Episodes,” “Family Tree,” “Louie,” “New Girl,” and “Parks and Recreation.”

Cryer (“Two and a Half Men“) was as shocked as we were when he won Best Comedy Actor last year. He is back in the hunt. While nominee Larry David (“Curb Your Enthusiasm”) is not eligible this time, the other four from 2012 are: Alec Baldwin (“30 Rock”), Don Cheadle (“House of Lies“), Louis C.K. (“Louie”), and Jim Parsons (“The Big Bang Theory”). Other strong candidates include Jason Bateman (“Arrested Development”), Johnny Galecki (“The Big Bang Theory”), Matt LeBlanc (“Episodes”), Matthew Perry (“Go On“), and Andrew Rannells (“The New Normal“).

Last year, Louis-Dreyfus (“Veep”) won her third overall Emmy Award and second as Best Comedy Actress. She and all six of her competitors –: Zooey Deschanel (“New Girl”), Lena Dunham (“Girls”), Edie Falco (“Nurse Jackie“), Tina Fey (“30 Rock”), Melissa McCarthy (“Mike and Molly”), and Amy Poehler (“Parks and Recreation”) — are again eligible. Also keep an eye on Kat Dennings (“2 Broke Girls“), Laura Dern (“Enlightened“), Mindy Kaling (“The Mindy Project“), Martha Plimpton (“Raising Hope“).

The HBO political drama “Game Change” was the Emmy Award winner as Best TV Movie/Miniseries last year. This year’s slate of contenders also features a large number of well-known stars from film and television. For the first time, there will be no supporting races, so all actors and actresses will be combined into two general acting categories.

Some of the top-billed titles include “American Horror Story: Asylum” (with Jessica Lange and Zachary Quinto), “Betty and Coretta” (Angela Bassett and Mary J. Blige), “Behind the Candelabra” (Michael Douglas and Matt Damon), “The Girl” (Sienna Miller and Toby Jones), “Mr. Selfridge” (Jeremy Piven), “Parade’s End” (Benedict Cumberbatch and Rebecca Hall), “Phil Spector” (Al Pacino and Helen Mirren), “Political Animals” (Sigourney Weaver and Ellen Burstyn), “Steel Magnolias” (Queen Latifah and Alfre Woodard), “Top of the Lake” (Holly Hunter and Elisabeth Moss), and “Wallander” (Kenneth Branagh).

More News from GoldDerby