Secrets of Emmy Awards ceremony revealed

Final details regarding the 65th annual Emmy Awards were announced on Thursday by executive producer Ken Ehrlich. The CBS ceremony will be hosted by four-time Emmy winner Neil Patrick Harris this Sunday (Sept. 22).

Special segments include an opening film with Harris and his “How I Met Your Mother” castmates, a dance-off between Harris and this year’s choreography nominees, a tribute to the 50th anniversary of the key events of 1963 with Don Cheadle and Carrie Underwood, a musical tribute to Liberace by Elton John, and special memorial salutes to TV icons James Gandolfini, Gary David Goldberg, Cory Monteith, Jean Stapleton, and Jonathan Winters.

Based on seat card numbering, Gold Derby has determined that the order of the awards should be similar to recent years: all comedy categories up front (except series which will be the last award of the night), followed by drama, then movie/miniseries, with reality-competition, variety and choreography sprinkled throughout.

Malin Akerman
Stephen Amell 
Will Arnett & Margo Martindale
Alec Baldwin
Andre Braugher
Connie Britton
Dan Bucatinsky & Carrie Preston 
Diahann Carroll & Kerry Washington
Emilia Clarke
Bryan Cranston
Matt Damon & Michael Douglas
Claire Danes 
Emily Deschanel & Zooey Deschanel
Jimmy Fallon 
Anna Faris & Allison Janney
Tina Fey & Amy Poehler
Tim Gunn & Heidi Klum
Jon Hamm
Alyson Hannigan & Cobie Smulders
Mark Harmon
Mindy Kaling
Jimmy Kimmel
Melissa Leo & Bob Newhart
LL Cool J
Julianna Margulies
Dylan McDermott
Dean Norris 
Jim Parsons
Blair Underwood 
Sofia Vergara

Elton John
Choreography nominees

James Gandolfini (by Edie Falco)
Gary David Goldberg (by Michael J. Fox)
Cory Monteith (by Jane Lynch)
Jean Stapleton (by Rob Reiner)
Jonathan Winters (by Robin Williams)

Don Cheadle on Kennedy assassination
Carrie Underwood with music of 1963

What will win this weekend? Make your final predictions with the simple drag-and-drop menu below.

More News from GoldDerby