Emmy ballot shocks: ‘Community’ off, ‘Archer’ on, ‘SNL’ snubs Oscar champs

Last week, Gold Derby previewed many of the shocks on the Emmys ballots published online Monday by the TV academy. However, even with our advance sneak peek, more stunners are to be found throughout the hundreds of pages now in the hands of voters.

Best Comedy Series:Bunheads,” “Community,” “Eastbound and Down,” and “The Family Tools” are not on the ballot but  IFC’s “Maron” is.  Animated series “Archer” is moving over to this race while “Family Guy” is giving up on getting a bid here. 

Best Comedy Actor: Last year’s special class Emmy champ was “Children’s Hospital” and its creator and star Rob Corddry enters here for the first time, even though his show remains in special class. After being snubbed in supporting, Jake Johnson (“New Girl“) is trying his luck here. Absent from the ballot are Nat Faxon (“Ben and Kate“), Danny McBride (“Eastbound and Down“), Lucas Neff (“Raising Hope“), and Bill Pullman (“1600 Penn“).

Best Comedy Actress: No new surprises but as we confirmed last week Portia de Rossi (“Arrested Development“) is indeed submitting in this category.

Best Comedy Supporting Actor: Tony Hale entered for “Veep” but not “Arrested Development.” All of “The Office” stars are in this race rather than lead.

Best Comedy Supporting Actress: Very strange to see the title star of “Inside Amy Schumer” here instead of lead.

Best Comedy Guest Actor: As we reported last week, no Steve Carell for his cameo on “The Office” finale. “Saturday Night Live” entered guest hosts Louis C.K., Bruno Mars, Martin Short and Justin Timberlake while Kevin Hart submitted himself. Among the other men that “SNL” chose not to submit — Academy Award winners Ben Affleck, Jamie Foxx, Christoph Waltz and Oscarcast host Seth MacFarlane.

Best Comedy Guest Actress: “SNL” submitted Melissa McCarthy and Kristen Wiig over recent Oscar champs Anne Hathaway or Jennifer Lawrence.

Best Drama Series: After failing last year, Starz does not even enter “Boss” this time though star Kelsey Grammer remains on the lead acting ballot. PBS has “Call the Midwife” and its lead Jessica Raine in the drama races instead of miniseries. No effort at all for the SyFy original series “Continuum,” although they have one acting entry, proving it is eligible.

Best Drama Actor: Nothing surprising among the actual entries, but Jeffrey Donovan (“Burn Notice”), Theo James (“Golden Boy“), and past champ Kiefer Sutherland (“Touch“) are not on the ballot.

Best Drama Actress: No entry for Anna Torv (“Fringe“) after several years of futility.

Best Drama Supporting Actor: Freddie Highmore is the co-lead of “Bates Motel,” so maybe his youthful age pushed him into this category. 2012 nominee Brendan Coyle is not on the ballot for “Downton Abbey,” but Rob James-Collier wants to take his spot. Did Dan Stevens submit himself? Laurence Fishburne is not entered for “Hannibal.”

Best Drama Supporting Actress: Elizabeth McGovern (“Downton Abbey“) failed to reap a lead bid so she is moving to supporting. Madeleine Stowe contended in lead at the Golden Globes for the first season of “Revenge,” but she is also making the move.

Best Drama Guest Actor: Several men from “The Good Wife” are missing, including F. Murray Abraham, Brian Dennehy, and Wallace Shawn. Not entered for “Damages” are Victor Garber, Chris Messina, and M. Emmet Walsh.

Best Drama Guest Actress: Among the ladies from “The Good Wife” who did not make the cut —  five-time Tony champ Audra McDonald, Amanda Peet, Christina Ricci, Anika Noni Rose, and Annabella Sciorra. Also absent this year are Jennifer Jason Leigh (“Revenge”) and Emmy legend Betty White (“The Client List”). Loretta Devine (“Greys Anatomy“), who won this award in 2011 and was nominated last year, was not entered.

In the TV Movie/Miniseries categories, the shocker is the lack of quality productions. The field is top heavy mainly due to HBO and then drops back considerably after the first eight entries.

Among those telefilms and longforms absent from the ballot are “Coma” (with Lauren Ambrose and Geena Davis), “Crimson Petal and the White” (Romola Garai), “Titanic: Blood and Steel” (Kevin Zegers), and “Upstairs, Downstairs” (Keeley Hawes and Ed Stoppard).

We have updated our Emmy predictions center as per these official ballots. Be sure to double check your predictions or make them now for the first time. 

Emmy nominations will be announced July 18 with the winner revealed at the 65th annual edition of these kudos on Sept. 22. 

More News from GoldDerby