‘Her,’ Bruce Dern, Emma Thompson win National Board of Review Awards

The National Board of Review went its own way Wednesday, naming “Her” as Best Picture and feting its helmer Spike Jonze as well. (See the full list of winners here.)

On Tuesday, the New York Film Critics Circle had gone with “American Hustle” for Best Picture over current Oscar frontrunner “12 Years a Slave.” The NBR snubbed “American Hustle” entirely while “12 Years” earned only a mention on its Top 10 list. 

At the NBR, “Nebraska” won both male acting awards — lead Bruce Dern and supporting player Will Forte.

Emma Thompson claimed Best Actress for “Saving Mr. Banks” while Octavia Spencer took the supporting prize for “Fruitvale Station” which also won breakthrough awards for star Michael B. Jordan and helmer Ryan Coogler.

The Coens won the original screenplay prize for “Inside Llewyn Davis” while Emmy champ Terence Winter (“The Sorpranos”) won the adapted award for “The Wolf of Wall Street.” 

All of these films featured on the list of Best Picture nominees, as did “Lone Survivor,” “Prisoners” and “The Secret Life of Walter Mitty.” 

The Wind Rises” won Best Animated Feature as it had at the NYFCC and “Stories We Tell” repeated as Best Documentary.

The Past” picked up the Foreign Language Film award. 

Gravity” won a special award for innovation while “Wadjda” won the Freedom of Expression award. 

At the Jan. 7 ceremony at Ciprianis in Gotham, the NBR is set to fete “Wolf of Wall Street” helmer Martin Scorsese and star Leonardo DiCaprio for their career collaboration.

Last year, the NBR echoed the NYFCC by naming  “Zero Dark Thirty” Best Picture and feting its helmer Kathryn Bigelow too. Bradley Cooper pulled off an upset in Best Actor, winning for “Silver Linings Playbook” while his co-star — eventual Oscar champ Jennifer Lawrence lost Best Actress to “Zero Dark Thirty” star Jessica Chastain. Both these women had been bested at the NYFCC by Rachel Weisz (“The Deep Blue Sea”).

Cooper’s surprise win meant that “Lincoln” leading man Daniel Day-Lewis, who won over the NYFCC and the Oscars, remains without a lead acting prize from this group. While he claimed the 1986 supporting award for his performances in both “My Beautiful Launderette” and “A Room With a View,” he did not prevail for either of his Oscar-winning roles in 1989’s “My Left Foot” (Morgan Freeman won for “Driving Miss Daisy”) or 2007’s “There Will Be Blood” (George Clooney won for “Michael Clayton”). Leonardo DiCaprio (“Django Unchained“) picked up a second Supporting Actor award, to join the one he won in 1993 for “What’s Eating Gilbert Grape.” And character actress Ann Dowd won for her featured performance in “Compliance.”

Below, begin your predictions for the Oscars by forecasting the winner of Best Picture.

More News from GoldDerby