Olivier Awards: Complete list of winners

Winners for the 37th annual edition of the Olivier Awards, Britain’s top theater prizes, were announced on Sunday in London. (Read full report here.)

Best Play
“The Audience”
X – “The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time”
“This House”

Best Play Revival 
X – “Long Day’s Journey Into Night”
“Old Times”
“Twelfth Night” (Apollo Theatre)

Best Actor (Play) 
Rupert Everett – “The Judas Kiss”
James McAvoy –” Macbeth”
Mark Rylance – “Twelfth Night”
Rafe Spall – “Constellations”
X – Luke Treadaway – “The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time”

Best Actress (Play)
X – Helen Mirren – “The Audience”
Hattie Morahan – “A Doll’s House”
Billie Piper – “The Effect”
Kristin Scott Thomas – “Old Times”

Best Supporting Actor (Play)
Paul Chahidi – “Twelfth Night”
X – Richard McCabe – “The Audience”
Adrian Scarborough – “Hedda Gabler”
Kyle Soller – “Long Day’s Journey Into Night”

Best Supporting Actress (Play)
Janie Dee – “NSFW”
Anastasia Hille – “The Effect”
Cush Jumbo – “Julius Caesar” (Donmar Warehouse)
Helen McCrory – “The Last Of The Haussmans”
X – Nicola Walker – “The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time”

Best Director 
Stephen Daldry – “The Audience”
X – Marianne Elliott – “The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time”
Jeremy Herrin – “This House”
Simon McBurney – “The Master And Margarita”

Best Musical 
“Soul Sister”
“The Bodyguard”
X – “Top Hat”

Best Musical Revival
“A Chorus Line”
“Kiss Me, Kate”
X – “Sweeney Todd”

Best Actor (Musical)
X – Michael Ball – “Sweeney Todd”
Alex Bourne – “Kiss Me, Kate”
Tom Chambers – “Top Hat”
Will Young – “Cabaret”

Best Actress (Musical)
Heather Headley – “The Bodyguard”
X – Imelda Staunton – “Sweeney Todd”
Summer Strallen – “Top Hat”
Hannah Waddingham – “Kiss Me, Kate”

Best Supporting Performance (Musical)
Adam Garcia – “Kiss Me, Kate”
Debbie Kurup – “The Bodyguard”
Siân Phillips – “Cabaret”
X – Leigh Zimmerman – “A Chorus Line”

Best Choreographer
Scott Ambler – “Chariots Of Fire”
X – Bill Deamer – “Top Hat”
Scott Graham & Steven Hoggett – “The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time”
Stephen Mear – “Kiss Me, Kate”

Best Costume Design
Bob Crowley – “The Audience”
X – Jon Morrell – “Top Hat”
Jenny Tiramani – “Twelfth Night”
Anthony Ward – “Sweeney Todd”

Best Lighting Design
Paul Anderson – “The Master And Margarita”
X – Paule Constable – “The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time”
Lee Curran – “Constellations”
Mark Henderson – “Sweeney Todd”

Best Sound Design
X – Ian Dickinson – “The Curious Incident Of The Dog In The Night-Time”
Paul Groothuis – “Sweeney Todd”
David McSeveney – “Constellations”
Gareth Owen – “Top Hat”

Best Set Design
Hildegard Bechtler – “Top Hat”
Miriam Buether & Wang Gongxin – “Wild Swans”
X – Bunny Christie & Finn Ross –” The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time”
Tim Hatley – “The Bodyguard”

Best Entertainment and Family
“Cinderella” (St James Theatre)
X – “Goodnight Mister Tom”
“Hansel And Gretel”
“Room On The Broom”

Best New Dance Production
X – “Aeternum” by the Royal Ballet at the Royal Opera House, choreographed by Christoper Wheeldon

“Cacti” by Nederlands Dans Theatre 2 at Sadler’s Wells, choreographed by Alexander Ekman

“A Streetcar Named Desire” by Scottish Ballet at Sadler’s Wells

Best Achievement in Dance
Lez Brotherston for the set and costumes for Matthew Bourne’s “Sleeping Beauty, New Adventures” at Sadler’s Wells

ILL-Abilities company in Breakin’ Convention at Sadler’s Wells

X – Marianela Nunez for “Aeternum, Diana & Actaeon and Viscera,” The Royal Ballet at the Royal Opera House

Best New Opera Production 
“Billy Budd”, English National Opera at the London Coliseum
“Caligula”, English National Opera at the London Coliseum
X – “Einstein On The Beach” at the Barbican Theatre
“La Traviata”, English National Opera at the London Coliseum

Best Achievement in Opera
Edward Gardner for his conducting of “The Flying Dutchman” and “Billy Budd” at the English National Opera, London Coliseum

X – Bryan Hymel for his performances in “Les Troyens”, “Robert Le Diable” and “Rusalka” at the Royal Opera House

Music Theatre Wales for “In the Locked Room”/”Ghost Patrol” at the Linbury Theatre, the Royal Opera House

The Stage Management teams at English National Opera, London Coliseum and the Royal Opera House

Best Achievement by Affiliate Theatre
Caroline Horton for “You’re Not Like The Other Girls Chrissy” at the Bush Theatre

The production of “Red Velvet” at the Tricycle Theatre

X – The season of new writing at the Royal Court Upstairs

Kate Bond and Morgan Lloyd for “You Me Bum Bum Train,” presented by Theatre Royal Stratford East

BBC Radio 2 Audience Award
X – “Billy Elliot The Musical”
“Matilda The Musical”
“The Phantom Of The Opera”

Special Awards
Gillian Lynne
Michael Frayn

More News from GoldDerby