Exclusive: ’30 Rock’ will return to SAG Awards race one last time

Will Alec Baldwin win an unprecedented eighth straight SAG Award next January?

30 Rock” ended its run last January, airing five episodes that month including a two-part finale. While the SAG rules require six episodes air in the calendar year to make a show eligible for consideration, this awards darling is being allowed to enter. This means it will be competing at SAG an eighth time for its seven seasons on NBC.

Baldwin has snatched up seven consecutive trophies as Best TV Comedy Actor. He has never lost for his role as the fictional network president Jack Donaghy. His continued eligibility is not good news for previous nominees Ty Burrell and Eric Stonestreet (“Modern Family“), Jon Cryer (“Two and a Half Men“), and Jim Parsons (“The Big Bang Theory“) who have never had a realistic chance to win due to Baldwin’s dominance.

Tina Fey, his co-star and creator of the program, is the defending Best TV Comedy Actress champ. She defeated Edie Falco (“Nurse Jackie“), Amy Poehler (“Parks and Recreation“), Sofia Vergara (“Modern Family“), and Betty White (“Hot in Cleveland“). She also prevailed in 2008, 2009, and 2010.

The show has contended for Best TV Comedy Ensemble at the SAG Awards for every season except the first. It won in 2009 but has lost the past three years to “Modern Family.”

The show and its stars might also be eligible at the next Golden Globes ceremony, but a decision has not yet been made by that committee.

30 Rock” contends for the final time at the Emmy Awards this month where it has 14 overall nominations. It has not brought home any Emmys since 2009, when it completed a three-year run as Best Comedy Series.

Will “30 Rock” win Best Comedy Series one last time? Use the easy drag-and-drop menu below to make your prediction.

More News from GoldDerby