Women and minorities snubbed by TV academy’s Hall of Fame

There were no women or minorities among the Hall of Fame inductees announced Wednesday by the Television Academy. They number among the TV icons behind the scenes and on the screens who continue to be snubbed.

The roster of honorees is a good one, albeit a group of six white men: actor/producer Ron Howard, sportscaster Al Michaels, executive Leslie Moonves, journalist Bob Schieffer, producer/writer Dick Wolf, and inventor Philo Farnsworth. They are the 22nd class in a tradition dating back to 1984 when Lucille Ball, Milton Berle, Paddy Chayefsky, Norman Lear, Edward R. Murrow, William S. Paley, and David Sarnoff were enshrined.

There are a dozen people who are overdue for recognition and should be considered top priority by the next Hall of Fame committee. Some of them have been chosen for their iconic characters, some for their prolific careers, and some for their impact on the medium. (Emmy references are to Primetime and Daytime combined unless otherwise noted.)


Ed Bradley (journalist, reporter and host of “60 Minutes”; 19 Emmy wins)

Ken Burns (dozens of documentaries including “The Civil War,” “Baseball,” and “The War”; six Emmy wins in 13 nominations)

Julia Child (pioneer of daytime programming; three Emmy wins in seven nominations)

Tyne Daly (“Cagney and Lacey,” “Christy,” “Judging Amy,” many TV movies; six Emmy wins in 16 nominations)

Peter Falk (“Columbo,” many TV movies; five Emmy wins in 12 nominations)

Michael J. Fox (“Family Ties,” “Spin City,” “Rescue Me,” “The Good Wife”; five Emmy wins in 15 nominations)

Don Knotts (“The Andy Griffith Show,” “The Steve Allen Show,” “Three’s Company,” “The Don Knotts Show”; five Emmy wins in five nominations)

Brian Lamb (founder of C-Span)

David Letterman (“Late Night with David Letterman,” “Late Show with David Letterman,” “Everybody Loves Raymond”; over 30 Emmy wins and 150 nominations for all shows)

John Ritter (“Three’s Company,” “Hooperman,” “8 Simple Rules”; one Emmy win in 10 nominations)

Jay Sandrich (director of many episodes of “The Mary Tyler Moore Show,” “The Cosby Show,” “Get Smart,” “Soap,” and more; six Emmy wins in 11 nominations)

Lily Tomlin (“Laugh-In,” “Murphy Brown,” “The West Wing,” many variety specials; seven Emmy wins in 25 nominations)


Jane Curtin (“Saturday Night Live,” “Kate and Allie,” “Third Rock from the Sun,” many TV movies; two Emmy wins in five nominations)

Sally Field (“Gidget,” “The Flying Nun,” “Brothers and Sisters,” many TV movies; three Emmy wins in nine nominations)

Susan Lucci (“All My Children”; one Emmy win in 21 nominations)

Elizabeth Montgomery (“Bewitched,” many TV movies; nine Emmy nominations)

Cicely Tyson (“Roots,” “King,” many TV movies; three Emmy wins in nine nominations)


James Arness (“Gunsmoke,” “McClain’s Law,” “How the West Was Won”; three Emmy nominations)

Raymond Burr (“Perry Mason,” “Ironside,” many TV movies; two Emmy wins in eight nominations)

Ted Danson (“Cheers,” “Becker,” “Damages,” “Curb Your Enthusiasm,” “C.S.I.”; two Emmy wins in 15 nominations)

Kelsey Grammer (“Cheers,” “Frasier,” “The Simpsons,” “Boss”; five Emmy wins in 17 nominations)

Larry Hagman (“I Dream of Jeannie,” “Dallas,” many TV movies; two Emmy nominations)

Jack Klugman (“The Odd Couple,” “The Twilight Zone,” “Quincy, M.E.”; three Emmy wins in 10 nominations)

Tony Randall (“The Odd Couple,” “Mr. Peepers,” “The Tony Randall Show,” “Love Sidney”; one Emmy win in six nominations)

Tom Selleck (“Magnum, P.I.,” “Friends,” “Blue Bloods,” many TV movies; one Emmy win in seven nominations)


William J. Bell (creator, writer, and producer of “Another World,” “The Young and the Restless,” and “The Bold and the Beautiful”)

Stephen J. Cannell (writer and producer of “The Rockford Files,” “The A-Team,” “Wiseguy,” “Hunter,” 21 Jump Street,” “The Greatest American Hero”)

David Chase (writer and producer of “The Sopranos,” “The Rockford Files,” “Northern Exposure,” “I’ll Fly Away”; seven Emmy wins in 23 nominations)

Bob Costas (NBC Sports anchor, reporter, announcer, and host for over 30 years; “Later with Bob Costas”; 23 Sports Emmy wins)

Larry David/Jerry Seinfeld (creators, producers, and writers of “Seinfeld”; David also has “Curb Your Enthusiasm”; both shows combined have 12 Emmy wins and over 100 nominations)

Dick Ebersol (NBC Sports president for over 20 years; helped launch “Saturday Night Live” and modern Olympics coverage)

Paul Henning (writer and producer of “The Beverly Hillbillies,” “Green Acres,” “Petticoat Junction,” “Burns and Allen”)

Robert Johson (founder of BET Network)

David E. Kelley (writer and producer of “L.A. Law,” “Picket Fences,” “Chicago Hope,” “Ally McBeal,” “The Practice,” “Boston Legal”; nine Emmy wins personally; his shows have over 50 wins and 150 nominations)

David Lloyd (prolific comedy writer for “The Mary Tyler Moore Show,” “The Bob Newhart Show,” “Rhoda,” “Lou Grant,” “Cheers,” “Taxi,” “Frasier,” “Wings”; three Emmy wins in 12 nominations)

Mike Post (composer for “The Rockford Files,” “Hill Street Blues,” “Hunter,” “The A-Team,” “Magnum, P.I.,” “Quantum Leap,” “Doogie Howser,” “L.A. Law,” “NYPD Blue,” “Law and Order”)

Buffalo Bob Smith (creator and star of of “Howdy Doody”)

Lesley Stahl (journalist, anchor, and host of “60 Minutes,” “Face the Nation”)

John Wells (writer and producer of “E.R.,” “The West Wing,” “Third Watch,” “China Beach,” “Shameless”; over 50 Emmy wins and 200+ nominations for his programs)

More News from GoldDerby