Who should the AFI honor next: Denzel Washington, Jessica Lange, …?

The American Film Institute will announce their next lifetime achievement honoree in the near future. Who do you think will be selected for their 2015 tribute?

Last year’s recipient was two-time Oscar winner Jane Fonda. The 2013 program honoring director and writer Mel Brooks was so well-received, it won the Emmy Award a few weeks ago as Best Variety Special.

Related: Kennedy Center Honors select Al Green, Tom Hanks, Lily Tomlin

The annual event began in 1973 with director John Ford as the first honoree. Other notables over the next few years included James Cagney, Orson Welles, William Wyler, Bette Davis, Henry Fonda, Alfred Hitchcock, James Stewart, and Fred Astaire.

When you make a prediction using our poll below, keep in mind the following living people have already been honored by the AFI: Kirk Douglas, Sidney Poitier, Jack Nicholson, Steven Spielberg, Clint Eastwood, Martin Scorsese, Dustin Hoffman, Harrison Ford, Barbra Streisand, Tom Hanks, Robert De Niro, Meryl Streep, George Lucas, Sean Connery, Al Pacino, Warren Beatty, Michael Douglas, Mike Nichols, Morgan Freeman, and Shirley MacLaine.

With only a couple of exceptions, almost every selection has been in their late 50s or older. They must be willing to attend (so probably no Woody Allen or Gene Hackman) and help to sell out an evening’s dinner event to lots of industry heavyweights.

Discuss your AFI life achievement picks in our notorious forums

For those reasons, we have placed the following 15 people in our poll. Watch our video slugfest below between Gold Derby executive editor Paul Sheehan and myself to hear our thoughts. Then make your prediction for who you think will be the AFI 2015 honoree.

Julie Andrews – Oscar winner for “Mary Poppins”; Kennedy Center honoree

Jeff Bridges – Oscar winner for “Crazy Heart”

Michael Caine – two-time Oscar winner for “Hannah and Her Sisters” and “The Cider House Rules”

Glenn Close – six-time Oscar nominee for “Fatal Attraction,” “Dangerous Liaisons” and more

Joel and Ethan Coen – four-time Oscar winners for “Fargo” and “No Country for Old Men”

Francis Ford Coppola – five-time Oscar winner for “Patton,” “The Godfather,” and “The Godfather Part II”

Robert Duvall – Oscar winner for “Tender Mercies”

Sally Field – two-time Oscar winner for “Norma Rae” and “Places in the Heart”

Anthony Hopkins – Oscar winner for “The Silence of the Lambs”; Cecil B. DeMille recipient

Ron Howard – two-time Oscar winner for “A Beautiful Mind”

Diane Keaton – Oscar winner for “Annie Hall”

Jessica Lange – two-time Oscar winner for “Tootsie” and “Blue Sky”

Steve Martin – honorary Oscar recipient; Kennedy Center honoree

Robert Redford – Oscar winner for “Ordinary People”; Kennedy Center honoree; Cecil B. DeMille recipient

Denzel Washington – two-time Oscar winner for “Glory” and “Training Day”

More News from GoldDerby