News Nuggets: Daytime Emmys recruit host Kathy Griffin to ‘resuscitate’ ceremony

Comedian Kathy Griffin is recruited by the Daytime Emmys to “resuscitate” their upcoming ceremony, which will not actually air on television. It will be streamed on the internet instead from the Beverly Hilton on June 22. Two-time Emmy winner Griffin might be the “trophy-show nitroglycerin” needed to bring the event back to TV. Griffin said, “I am beyond thrilled to be hosting what I’m told is the most important television event of the year. Knowing that over 100 million people from every corner of the planet will be watching, I will try to keep my nerves at bay and deliver a great show.” Deadline.

Legendary actress Ruby Dee passes away at age 91 in New York. Along with her late husband Ossie Davis, they were a “formidable force” in entertainment and the civil rights movement. Her film credits included “The Jackie Robinson Story,” “A Raisin in the Sun,” “Do the Right Thing,” and “American Gangster,” which brought her an Oscar nomination in 2007. She was an Emmy and Grammy winner who was celebrated along with Davis at the 2004 Kennedy Center Honors. CNN.

Follow Gold Derby on
FacebookTwitterInstagram, Tumblr
, iTunes and YouTube

Recent Tony Award winner Neil Patrick Harris is departing the Broadway musical “Hedwig and the Angry Inch” on August 17. He will be replaced by past Tony nominee Andrew Rannells (“The Book of Mormon“) starting on August 20. He recently guest starred on HBO’s “Girls” and has other stage credits of “Jersey Boys” and “Hairspray.” Playbill.

Many presenters are unveiled for the fourth annual Critics Choice TV Awards. Appearing on stage will be Christina Applegate, Fred Armisen and Carrie Brownstein (“Portlandia“), Demian Bichir (“The Bridge”), Lizzy Caplan (“Masters of Sex”), Max Greenfield (“New Girl“), Tony Hale (“Veep“), Elisabeth Moss (“Mad Men“), Jim Parsons (“The Big Bang Theory“), Laura Prepon (“Orange is the New Black“), Matthew Rhys (“The Americans”), and Emmy Rossum (“Shameless“). The ceremony will air live on the CW network and is hosted by Cedric the Entertainer. TV by the Numbers.

Dick Askin is the new Chairman of the Council of Past Presidents for the Television Academy. This group provides advice and counsel to the Academy’s elected leadership and works closely with the Board of Governors. Askin is a past Chairman and CEO from 2003 to 2007. He will succeed Leo Chaloukian, who has been at this top post since 2003. Emmys.

Join the lively film and TV discussions going on
right now in the Gold Derby message boards

A new black-and-white photo gallery showcases over 50 of this year’s Emmy Awards contenders. It includes Kevin Bacon (“The Following“), Connie Britton (“Nashville“), Lizzy Caplan (“Masters of Sex“), Diane Kruger (“The Bridge“), Aaron Paul (“Breaking Bad“), Matthew Rhys (“The Americans“), Bellamy Young (“Scandal“), and more. Variety.

The FX Networks are named the Marketing Team of the Year by PromaxBDA, a global group for marketing, promotion, and design professionals. The network group secured 40 individual awards for specific campaigns. Stun Creative in Los Angeles was chosen as Agency of the Year. Other top winners were A&E, ESPN, Fox Sports, History, NatGeo, Nickelodeon, and Showtime. PromaxBDA.

More News from GoldDerby