Daytime Emmy pre-nominations shower ‘General Hospital’ and ‘Young and Restless,’ shun online soaps

General Hospital” and “The Young and the Restless” dominated the Daytime Emmy acting pre-nominations with 19 citations apiece. “Days of Our Lives” follows with 14. “The Bold and the Beautiful” has nine.

The two embattled online soaps, “All My Children” and “One Life to Live,” were mostly disregarded; two actors from each show were recognized in the younger acting categories (for performers under 26), but both shows were shut out of the lead and supporting races.

The longlists were assembled by panels of peer judges, who watched sample performances from all entrants in each category before narrowing it down to their 10 favorites. (Because of ties, there are 12 pre-nominees for Lead Actress and 13 for Supporting Actor.) The pre-nominees now advance to the blue-ribbon round, where panels will determine the final nominees, to be announced on May 1.

Sharon Case, “The Young and the Restless
Jessica Collins, “The Young and the Restless”
Eileen Davidson, “Days of Our Lives
Finola Hughes, “General Hospital
Katherine Kelly Lang, “The Bold and the Beautiful
Kelly Monaco, “General Hospital”
Alison Sweeney, “Days of Our Lives”
Heather Tom, “The Bold and the Beautiful”
Jess Walton, “The Young and the Restless”
Maura West, “General Hospital”
Laura Wright, “General Hospital”
Arianne Zucker, “Days of Our Lives”

Heather Tom is back to defend her title. She has won this category for the last two years and has five career wins spanning younger, supporting, and lead races.

Tom is the only returning contender from last year, but she’s not the only returning champ. Laura Wright, Finola Hughes, and Jess Walton are previous Lead Actress winners; Maura West is new to “GH,” but she won this category twice for “As the World Turns.” Sharon Case won once in the supporting race.

Three Supporting Actress nominees from 2013 get a promotion this year: Katherine Kelly Lang, Jessica Collins, and Arianne Zucker. Previous Emmy nominees also in the running are Kelly Monaco and Eileen Davidson.

Maurice Benard, “General Hospital”
Peter Bergman, “The Young and the Restless”
Doug Davidson, “The Young and the Restless”
Roger Howarth, “General Hospital”
Christian LeBlanc, “The Young and the Restless”
John McCook, “The Bold and the Beautiful”
Jason Thompson, “General Hospital”
Billy Miller, “The Young and the Restless”
James Scott, “Days of Our Lives”
Shawn Patrick Christian, “Days of Our Lives”

Two Emmy winners from 2013 compete here this year: defending Lead Actor champ Doug Davidson and his “Y&R” co-star Billy Miller, who competes as a lead for the first time after winning Supporting Actor twice (2010, 2013).

Two of Davidson’s 2013 Lead Actor rivals are also back in contention: Peter Bergman and Jason Thompson. Joining them among the pre-nominees are Emmy-winners Maurice Benard, Roger Howarth, and Christian LeBlanc, as well as previous nominees John McCook and James Scott.

RELATEDWill embattled online soaps ‘All My Children’ and ‘One Life to Live’ win over Daytime Emmys?

Tracey E. Bregman, “The Young and the Restless”
Melissa Claire Egan, “The Young and the Restless”
Jane Elliot, “General Hospital”
Nancy Lee Grahn, “General Hospital”
Amelia Heinle, “The Young and the Restless”
Elizabeth Hendrickson, “The Young and the Restless”
Lisa LoCicero, “General Hospital”
Kimberly McCullough, “General Hospital”
Kelly Sullivan, “General Hospital”
Cynthia Watros, “The Young and the Restless”

The 2013 winner, Julie Marie Berman (“GH”), is absent; she left the series last year. Also missing are three of last year’s other nominees, who as mentioned above are competing in the lead race this time around. Only one of last year’s nominees is back: Melissa Claire Egan.

But to secure another nomination, Egan will have to battle previous Emmy-winners Tracey Bregman, Jane Elliot, Nancy Lee Grahn, Kimberly McCullough, and Cynthia Watros.

The only other past nominee in contention is Elizabeth Hendrickson.

Robert Adamson, “The Young and the Restless”
Bradford Anderson, “General Hospital”
Blake Berris, “Days of Our Lives”
Sean Blakemore, “General Hospital”
Darin Brooks, “The Bold and the Beautiful”
Steve Burton, “The Young and the Restless”
Scott Clifton, “The Bold and the Beautiful”
William deVry, “General Hospital”
Wally Kurth, “Days of Our Lives”
Eric Martsolf, “Days of Our Lives”
Greg Rikaart, “The Young and the Restless”
Greg Vaughan, “Days of Our Lives”
Dominic Zamprogna, “General Hospital”

2013’s Supporting Actor race ended in a tie between “Y&R’s” Billy Miller, who competes as a lead actor this year, and Scott Clifton, who is back to defend his title. Fellow nominee Bradford Anderson also returns. Last year’s fourth contender, Jeff Branson (“Y&R”), left the show in 2012 and was not eligible to compete.

Also among the list are past winners Darin Brooks, Steve Burton, and Greg Rikaart. Daytime veteran Wally Kurth has never been nominated for acting but he won an Emmy for songwriting in 2002.

Blake Berris and William deVry are previous nominees.

Kristen Alderson, “General Hospital”
Camila Banus, “Days of Our Lives”
Linsey Godfrey, “The Bold and the Beautiful”
Christel Khalil, “The Young and the Restless”
Hunter King, “The Young and the Restless”
Kate Mansi, “Days of Our Lives”
Kim Matula, “The Bold and the Beautiful”
Kelley Missal, “One Life to Live”
Ashlyn Pearce, “The Bold and the Beautiful”
Denyse Tontz, “All My Children”

Kristen Alderson won last year for playing Starr Manning on “GH”; she’s back, though playing a different character on the same show. The only other returning contender from 2013 is Hunter King.

Among the rest of the field is Christel Khalil, who won this award in 2012.  The rest of the field is battling for their first nominations, including Kelley Missal (“OLTL”) and Denyse Tontz (“AMC”), who are aiming to be among the first acting nominees for online series.

Corbin Bleu, “One Life to Live”
Bryan Craig, “General Hospital”
Chad Duell, “General Hospital”
Max Ehrich, “The Young and the Restless”
Adam Gregory, “The Bold and the Beautiful”
Chandler Massey, “Days of Our Lives”
Casey Moss, “Days of Our Lives”
Eric Nelsen, “All My Children”
Daniel Polo, “The Young and the Restless”
Freddie Smith, “Days of Our Lives”

Chandler Massey has won this award for the last two years, though this will be his last chance to win for this role. He was fired from the show last year, famously prompting outrage from his friend Charlie Sheen.

Massey faces 2013 rivals Freddie Smith – his co-star and on-screen love interest – and Max Ehrich, as well as his 2011 and 2012 challenger Chad Duell.

Corbin Bleu, better known for the “High School Musical” films and “Dancing with the Stars,” represents online soap “OLTL,” and Eric Nelsen is pre-nominated for “AMC.”

More News from GoldDerby