DGA TV nominations: Bryan Cranston scores twice for ‘Breaking Bad,’ ‘Modern Family’

Breaking Bad” and “Modern Family” are both double nominees at the DGA Awards for television, but especially noteworthy is that “Breaking” star Bryan Cranston earned bids for both programs. He directed the episode “Blood Money” for the final season of his AMC drama and the December episode “The Old Man & the Tree” for the ABC sitcom. This is his second nomination for “Modern Family”; he was cited last year for “Election Day.”

In the dramatic category, Cranston competes against “Breaking Bad” creator Vince Gilligan for the series finale “Felina,” but the series’s most acclaimed episode of the year, “Ozymandias,” was once again left out after being snubbed by the Writers Guild.

Rounding out the dramatic competition are David Fincher (the pilot for “House of Cards“), Lesli Linka Glatter (“The Star” for “Homeland“), and David Nutter (“The Rains of Castamere” for “Game of Thrones“). Fincher has a previous DGA Award for commercials and three nominations for feature film. Glatter is a previous DGA winner for “Mad Men.” Nutter has four previous bids.

In the comedy race, Cranston faces fellow “Modern Family” director Gail Mancuso (“My Hero”), a pair of “Big Bang Theory” episodes – “The Hofstadter Insufficiency” (directed by Mark Cendrowski) and “The Love Spell Potential” (directed by Anthony Rich) – and the “30 Rock” series finale “Hogcock!/Last Lunch” by Beth McCarthy-Miller.

McCarthy-Miller earned an additional nomination in the Movie/Miniseries field for NBC’s live presentation of “The Sound of Music,” alongside theatrical director Rob Ashford. They face Nelson McCormick (“Killing Kennedy“) and a trio of Oscar vets: Stephen Frears (“Muhammad Ali’s Greatest Fight“), David Mamet (“Phil Spector“), and recent Emmy-winner Steven Soderbergh (“Behind the Candelabra“).

While the DGA Award for feature films is a strong predictor of the Oscars, the same correlation cannot be found between TV winners and the Emmys. Only one DGA-winner for drama series in the last six years has also won the directing Emmy (Martin Scorsese for the “Boardwalk Empire” pilot), and only two in six years have matched on the comedy side (Barry Sonnenfeld for “Pushing Daisies’s” “Pie-lette” and Michael Spiller for “Modern Family’s” “Halloween”).

See the complete list of nominees below:

Bryan Cranston – “Breaking Bad” (“Blood Money”)
David Fincher – “House of Cards” (“Chapter 1”)
Vince Gilligan – “Breaking Bad” (“Felina”)
Lesli Linka Glatter – “Homeland” (“The Star”)
David Nutter – “Game of Thrones” (“The Rains of Castamere”)

Mark Cendrowski – “The Big Bang Theory” (“The Hofstadter Insufficiency”)
Bryan Cranston – “Modern Family” (“The Old Man & the Tree”)
Gail Mancuso – “Modern Family” (“My Hero”)
Beth McCarthy-Miller – “30 Rock” (“Hogcock!/Last Lunch”)
Anthony Rich – “The Big Bang Theory” (“The Love Spell Potential”)

Stephen Frears – “Muhammad Ali’s Greatest Fight”
David Mamet – “Phil Spector
Beth McCarthy-Miller and Rob Ashford – “The Sound of Music
Nelson McCormick – “Killing Kennedy
Steven Soderbergh – “Behind the Candelabra

Dave Diomedi – “Late Night with Jimmy Fallon” (#799)
Andy Fisher – “Jimmy Kimmel Live” (#13-1810)
Jim Hoskinson – “The Colbert Report” (#10004)
Don Roy King – “Saturday Night Live” (“Host: Justin Timberlake”)
Chuck O’Neil – “The Daily Show with Jon Stewart” (#19018)

Louis CK – “Louis CK: Oh My God”
Joel Gallen – “2013 Rock and Roll Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony”
Louis J. Horvitz – “55th Annual Grammy Awards”
Don Mischer – “85th Annual Academy Awards”
Glenn Weiss – “67th Annual Tony Awards”

Matthew Bartley – “The Biggest Loser” (“1501”)
Neil P. DeGroot – “72 Hours” (“The Lost Coast”)
Paul Starkman – “Top Chef” (“Glacial Gourmand”)
J. Rupert Thompson – “The Hero” (“Teamwork”)
Bertram van Munster – “The Amazing Race” (“Beards in the Wind”)

Stephen Herek – “Jinxed”
Jeffrey Hornaday – “Teen Beach Movie”
Jonathan Judge – “Swindle”
Amy Schatz – “An Apology to Elephants”
Adam Weissman – “A.N.T. Farm” (“influANTces”)

Fredrik Bond
John X. Carey
Noam Murro
Martin de Thurah
Matthijs van Heijningen

More News from GoldDerby