Jimmy Fallon is sixth Emmy-winning ‘Saturday Night Live’ guest host in six years

With a leading five Creative Arts wins, “Saturday Night Live” has many reasons to smile this year, but the biggest might have been when Jimmy Fallon claimed victory as the long-running variety series’ sixth guest host winner in the past six years.

Ever since the Emmys allowed “SNL” guest hosts to compete in the Comedy Guest Actor/Actress races in 2009, we’ve seen a complete overhaul of those categories. Below, a list of all of the “SNL” hosts that won over the past six years… and those that lost.

Emmy-winner Jane Lynch: Liquor helps me host ‘Hollywood Game Night’ (Video)

61st Creative Arts Emmys (2009)
Justin TimberlakeWinner
Tina FeyWinner

62nd Creative Arts Emmys (2010)
Betty WhiteWinner
Tina Fey – Nominee

63rd Creative Arts Emmys (2011)
Justin TimberlakeWinner
Zach Galifianakis – Nominee
Tina Fey – Nominee

64th Creative Arts Emmys (2012)
Jimmy FallonWinner
Melissa McCarthy – Nominee
Maya Rudolph – Nominee

65th Creative Arts Emmys (2013)
Louis C.K. – Nominee
Justin Timberlake – Nominee
Melissa McCarthy – Nominee
Kristen Wiig – Nominee

66th Creative Arts Emmys (2014)
Jimmy Fallon – Winner
Louis C.K. – Nominee
Tina Fey – Nominee
Melissa McCarthy – Nominee

Besides Fallon, “SNL” also received Creative Arts Emmys in the following categories: Best Variety Directing, Best Variety Costumes, Best Variety Hairstyling and Best Variety Makeup.

Even though Fallon wasn’t able to attend the Creative Arts ceremony, he still dominates many facets of this year’s Emmys. This year’s reigning Best Comedy Guest Actor champ is also in contention next week at the Primetime Emmys for the inaugural season of “Tonight Show Starring Jimmy Fallon” in the Best Variety Series race. 

Do you agree with the Emmys’ decision to honor Jimmy Fallon as Best Comedy Guest Actor? Sound off in the comments section or join the discussion in our Emmys forum.

Follow Gold Derby on FacebookTwitterInstagram, Tumblr, iTunes and YouTube

More News from GoldDerby