Julia Louis-Dreyfus wins third straight Emmy for ‘Veep’

With her fourth victory Monday night as Best Comedy Actress, Julia Louis-Dreyfus is another step closer to Emmy immortality. She is now tied with Helen Hunt (“Mad About You”) in this category and just one behind the all-time record holders Candice Bergen (“Murphy Brown”) and Mary Tyler Moore (“The Dick Van Dyke Show,” “The Mary Tyler Moore Show”).

Emmys: The good (‘Breaking Bad’), bad (Seth Meyers) and ugly (‘Weird’ Al)

Louis-Dreyfus has now won three straight times for her role as U.S. Vice President Selina Meyer on the HBO series “Veep. She previously won as the lead on “The New Adventures of Old Christine” in 2006. Her first Emmy was as Best Comedy Supporting Actress for “Seinfeld” in 1996.

She has been setting Emmy records over her three-decade television career. Last year, she surpassed legend Lucille Ball by receiving her 14th comedic acting nomination (this year’s nod brought the total to 15). Following Tyne Daly, she is only the second person to ever win Emmys for three different regular series roles. For all that success, the Television Academy inducted her into their Hall of Fame earlier this spring.

Biggest Emmy shockers: Benedict Cumberbatch, Martin Freeman, Jessica Lange …

Along with her 15 performance nominations, she is also a producer for the HBO series “Veep” and picked up her third bid as Best Comedy Series this year.

Follow Gold Derby on
FacebookTwitterInstagram, Tumblr
, iTunes and YouTube

For her own acting category, she submitted the episode “Crate.” In that installment, she and her staff are on the road campaigning when she finds out the President is resigning. The show ends with Selina and her assistant Gary (Tony Hale) in the bathroom laughing uncontrollably at the news that she is assuming that high position.

Watch our recent video chat with Julia Louis-Dreyfus (“Veep”)

Her competitors as Best Comedy Actress this year were Lena Dunham (“Girls“), Edie Falco (“Nurse Jackie“), Melissa McCarthy (“Mike and Molly“), Amy Poehler (“Parks and Recreation“), and Taylor Schilling (“Orange is the New Black“).

More News from GoldDerby