News Nuggets: Jimmy Fallon declared 2014 Entertainer of the Year

Late night host Jimmy Fallon is the 2014 Entertainer of the Year. He took over as host of “The Tonight Show Starring Jimmy Fallon” last February, turning it into “the hottest party in town, a celebrity playpen full of games, music, surprise guests, and good vibes all around.” Even previous host Jay Leno says, “He’s probably more like Johnny (Carson) than any other host. Johnny was very boyish when he was 40 years old, and Johnny had musical skills as well.” Ratings for the NBC program have also increased this past year. Fallon won another Emmy Award in August for guest hosting “Saturday Night Live.” Entertainment Weekly

Is Oscar-winning actress Jennifer Lawrence ready to tackle the music world next? Her song “The Hanging Tree” from “The Hunger Games: Mockingjay Part 1” debuts in the 12th spot on this week’s Billboard Hot 100. The song is written by composer James Newton Howard and is released on Republic Records. Lawrence was recently interviewed by David Letterman, and she told him that singing publicly is her biggest fear. Hollywood Reporter

Related News Nuggets:
Ian McKellen says next ‘Hobbit’ film might not be the ‘end of the journey’

Warner Bros. confirms the cast of their next superhero franchise. David Ayer (“Fury“) will direct “Suicide Squad” with Will Smith as Deadshot, Jared Leto as The Joker, Tom Hardy as Rick Flagg, Margot Robbie as Harley Quinn, Jai Courtney as Boomerang, and Cara Delevingne as Enchantress. The film is slated for release in August, 2016. Huffington Post

The Queen of Soul adds another award to her legendary career. Aretha Franklin will receive the first ever Billboard Women in Music Icon Award. Other honorees this year: Taylor Swift (Woman of the Year), Ariana Grande (Rising Star), Idina Menzel (Breakthrough Artist), and Hayley Williams (Trailblazer). The ceremony will be held in New York on December 12. USA Today

14 hottest forums posts:
New York Film Critics Awards reactions

The CBS special “A Very Grammy Christmas” adds even more performers to the lineup for this Friday’s live show. Sam Smith, Ariana Grande, and Big Sean join the telecast along with previously announced Mary J. Blige, Maroon 5, Tim McGraw, and Pharrell Williams. Nominees for Album of the Year will also be unveiled on the program. TV by the Numbers

Logo TV announces the 2014 winners of their “New Now Next Awards.” In a Miami ceremony hosted by “Glee” star Darren Criss, Sam Smith and Betty Who won the Best New Musician categories. Natalie Dormer (“The Hunger Games: Mockingjay Part 1“) and Ansel Elgort (“The Fault in Our Stars“) took home Best New Lead Film star awards. The Wrap

Ian McLagan, keyboardist for the 1960s British band Small Faces (renamed The Faces), dies in Texas at age 69. The band was inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame in 2012. Some of his fellow band members included Rod Stewart, Ron Wood, and Steve Marriott. Variety

More News from GoldDerby