SAG Awards: Edie Falco sets record with 21st nomination; Julianna Margulies could win record 9th time

While Meryl Streep has more SAG film nominations than anyone else with 16, Edie Falco blows that number away with her record-setting 21st nod on Wednesday. All of Falco’s bids have been for her television work, and she is nodded as Best TV Comedy Actress once again for “Nurse Jackie.” She already has five trophies on her shelf for “The Sopranos.”

In terms of wins, though, Julianna Margulies would like to break an all-time SAG record she currently shares with Alec Baldwin. And now the Screen Actors Guild Award voters have given her a chance with another nomination for “The Good Wife.” She and Baldwin have both won a record eight SAG trophies in their careers. A ninth on January 25 for Margulies would have her as the new record-holder.

Related: Complete list of 2014 SAG Awards nominations

Among the other interesting facts and figures for the television nominees:

Modern Family” is nodded yet again as Best TV Comedy Ensemble. It has won this category the past four straight years, and that is one more than “Seinfeld” (1994, 1996, 1997) for the most in that category.

After Margulies and Baldwin, Julia Louis-Dreyfus (“Veep“) and Allison Janney are in second place among performance wins with six each. Louis-Dreyfus could jump into second place by herself with a seventh victory. Falco currently has five wins, but could move up another level with her sixth.

Related: SAG Awards snubs include Jessica Lange, Kerry Washington, Martin Freeman

Among the 11 drama nominees, only Peter Dinklage (“Game of Thrones“), Tatiana Maslany (“Orphan Black“), and Robin Wright (“House of Cards“) are without SAG Awards already. 

The comedy categories include only three people yet to have SAG trophies on their mantles: Uzo Aduba (“Orange is the New Black“), Jim Parsons (“The Big Bang Theory“), and Amy Poehler (“Parks and Recreation“).

None of the five nominees as Best TV Movie/Miniseries Actor have won at SAG before: Adrien Brody (“Houdini“), Benedict Cumberbatch (“Sherlock: His Last Vow“), Richard Jenkins (“Olive Kitteridge“), Mark Ruffalo (“The Normal Heart“), and Billy Bob Thornton (“Fargo“).

Two nominees as Best TV Movie/Miniseries Actress have never won at SAG: Ellen Burstyn (“Petals on the Wind“) and Maggie Gyllenhaal (“The Honourable Woman“).

Performers with film and televison nominations this year are: Adrien Brody (“The Grand Budapest Hotel,” “Houdini”), Charles Dance (“The Imitation Game,” “Game of Thrones“), Allen Leech (“The Imitation Game,” “Downton Abbey“), and Mark Ruffalo (“Foxcatcher,” “The Normal Heart“).

The network leader is HBO (14), followed by ABC (5), Netflix (5), Showtime (5), CBS (3), FX (3), PBS (3), FOX (2), and Lifetime (2).

More News from GoldDerby