Exclusive: ‘True Detective’ will compete at Globes as limited series, SAG as drama series

HBO confirms that a new rule at the Golden Globes is forcing “True Detective” to compete as a limited series, not as a drama. The HBO newcomer tried its luck at the Emmys in August as a drama series and will continue to contend in that category at the upcoming Screen Actors Guild Awards.

On August 5, the Hollywood Foreign Press Assn. announced that the longform category known as “miniseries” was being renamed “limited series.” A limited series tells “a complete, non-recurring story” (e.g., anthologies like “American Horror Story” and “Fargo“) while a drama series has “an on-going theme, storyline or main characters… from year to year.” “True Detective” will return to HBO next year with an entirely new cast, storyline, and setting.

However, as the SAG Awards do not make this distinction, the paycaster will enter “True Detective” as a drama series there. The network also confirms that the show will be entered as a drama with all of the other guilds (directors, writers, producers, etc.).

Related News Nuggets:
Who are the 7 final candidates for the ‘True Detective’ lead actress role?

At the Emmys, the premium channel earned 12 nominations for the first season of “True Detective.” The show lost Best Drama Series to”Breaking Bad” while stars Woody Harrelson and Matthew McConaughey lost Best Drama Actor to that series’ four-time champ Bryan Cranston. However, it did prevail in five races: directing (Cary Joji Fukunaga), casting, cinematography, main title design, and makeup.

Join the lively film and TV discussions going on
right now in the Gold Derby message boards

Competition at the Globes will be fierce among the men now that Harrelson and McConaughey are confirmed to compete against the actors from TV movies and limited series. That overstuffed list includes recent Emmy winner Benedict Cumberbatch (“Sherlock: His Last Vow“) and three of his rival Emmy nominees — Mark Ruffalo (“The Normal Heart“), Martin Freeman and Billy Bob Thornton (“Fargo”) — as well as Richard Jenkins (“Olive Kitteridge“), Kiefer Sutherland (“24 Live Another Day“), Adrien Brody (“Houdini“), Matthew Rhys (“Death Comes to Pemberley“), and Bill Nighy (“Worricker“).

At the SAG Awards, they won’t have to worry about the ineligible Cranston anymore in the Best TV Drama Actor category. He won that one last year against four men who could return: Steve Buscemi (“Boardwalk Empire“), Jeff Daniels (“The Newsroom“), Peter Dinklage (“Game of Thrones“), and Kevin Spacey (“House of Cards“).

More News from GoldDerby