American Cinema Editors Golden Eddie Awards: Complete list of nominations

Nominations for the 65th annual edition of the Golden Eddie Awards bestowed by the American Cinema Editors were announced Friday. These kudos, honoring the best cutting in film and television, will be handed out on Jan. 30 in a ceremony at the Beverly Hilton. (Click here to read the full report on these key precursor prizes.)

Ballots for the drama, comedy/musical and animated film categories will be mailed to the 700 plus members of the guild on Jan. 5 and must be returned by Jan. 21. The judging panels for the TV prizes as well documentary feature will meet on Jan. 18. 


Best Edited Feature Film (Dramatic)
“American Sniper” (Joel Cox, ACE & Gary Roach, ACE)
“Boyhood” (Sandra Adair, ACE)
“Gone Girl” (Kirk Baxter, ACE)
“The Imitation Game” (William Goldenberg, ACE)
“Nightcrawler” (John Gilroy, ACE)
“Whiplash” (Tom Cross, ACE)

Best Editing Feature Film (Comedy or Musical)
“Birdman” (Douglas Crise & Stephen Mirrione, ACE)
“The Grand Budapest Hotel” (Barney Pilling)
“Guardians of the Galaxy” (Fred Rasking, Hughes Winborn, ACE & Craig Wood, ACE)
“Into the Woods” (Wyatt Smith)
“Inherent Vice” (Leslie Jones, ACE)

Best Edited Animated Feature Film
“Big Hero 6” (Tim Mertens)
“The Boxtrolls” (Edie Ichioka, ACE)
“The LEGO Movie” (David Burrow & Chris McKay)

Best Edited Documentary (Feature)
“CITIZENFOUR” (Mathilde Bonnefoy)
“Finding Vivian Maier” (Aaron Wickenden)
“Glen Campbell: I’ll Be Me” (Elisa Bonora)

ACE Eddie nominations:
Oscar frontrunners ‘Boyhood’ & ‘Birdman’ in, ‘Selma’ snubbed


Best Editing Half-Hour Series for Television
“Silicon Valley” – “Optimal Tip to Tip Efficiency” (Brian Merken & Tim Roche)
“Veep” – “Special Relationship” (Anthony Boys)
“Transparent” – “Pilot” (Catherine  Haight)

Best Edited One-Hour Series for Commercial Television
“24” – “10pm to 11am” (Scott Powell, ACE)
“Mad Men” – “Waterloo” (Christopher Gay)
“Madam Secretary” – “Pilot” (Elena Maganini, ACE & Michael Ornstein, ACE)
“Sherlock” – “His Last Vow” (Yan Miles)
“The Good Wife” – “A Few Words” (Scott Vickrey, ACE)

Best Edited One-Hour Series for Non-Commercial Television
“True Detective” – “Who Goes There” (Affonso Gonçalves)
“True Detective” – “The Secret Fate of All Life” (Alex Hall)
“House of Cards” – “Chapter 14” (Byron Smith)

Best Edited Miniseries or Motion Picture for Television
“Fargo” – “Buridan’s Ass” (Regis Kimble)
“Olive Kitteridge” – “A Different Road” (Jeffrey M. Werner, ACE)
“The Normal Heart” (Adam Penn)

Best Edited Non-Scripted Series
“Anthony Bourdain: Parts Unknown” – “Iran” (Hunter Gross)
“Deadliest Catch” – “Lost At Sea” (Josh Earl, ACE & Johnny Bishop)
“Vice” – “Greenland is Melting & Bonded Labor” (Joe Langford & Nick Carew)

Best Edited Documentary (Television)
“Cosmos: A SpaceTime Odyssey” – “Standing Up in the Milky Way” (John Duffy, ACE, Michael O’Halloran, Eric Lea)
“Pauly Shore Stands Alone” (Troy Takaki, ACE & Joey Vigour)
“The Roosevelts: An Intimate History” – “Episode 3: The Fire of Life” (Eric Ewers)

What do you think is going to win Best Editing at the Oscars? Vote below using our easy drag-and-drop menu. 

More News from GoldDerby