Daytime Emmy pre-nominations: ‘Young and Restless’ leads with 22

The pre-nominations are out for the 2014 Daytime Emmy Awards, and CBS’s top-rated soap “The Young and the Restless” leads with 22 citations in the six acting races, up from 19 last year when it tied with “General Hospital.”

This year, “GH” is far behind with 14. NBC’s “Days of Our Lives” has 13 (down just one from 14 last year), while “The Bold and the Beautiful” is actually up one to 10.

The longlists in the lead and supporting categories were assembled by panels of peer judges, who watched sample performances from all entrants in each category before narrowing it down to their 10 favorites. (Because of ties, there are 11 pre-nominees for Lead Actor and Supporting Actress.) The pre-nominees, along with the younger performer rosters, now advance to the blue-ribbon round, where beginning on Feb. 25, panels will determine the final nominees, to be announced March 26, as well as the winners. 

In addition to leading this year’s pre-nominations, “Y&R” is the defending champion for Best Drama Series, winning last year for the eighth time. But “GH” still holds the record with 11 Drama Series titles. “GH” wasn’t even nominated in last year’s race; can it rebound?

Kathy Griffin & the internet were the best things to happen to the Daytime Emmys in years

Tracey E. Bregman, “The Young and the Restless
Jessica Collins, “The Young and the Restless”
Melissa Claire Egan, “The Young and the Restless”
Katherine Kelly Lang, “The Bold and the Beautiful
Peggy McKay, “Days of Our Lives
Alison Sweeney, “Days of Our Lives”
Gina Tognoni, “The Young and the Restless”
Heather Tom, “The Bold and the Beautiful”
Maura West, “General Hospital
Laura Wright, “General Hospital”

Heather Tom has won five Emmys, and though she seemed like a strong contender last year, she lost to Eileen Davidson (“Days of Our Lives”), but Davidson is now out of the running, so could this be Tom’s chance to tie Erika Slezak‘s record as the Daytime Emmys’ most awarded actress?

Of her competitors, only her co-star Katherine Kelly Lang (“B&B”) was nominated last year. But she also faces previous Emmy-winners Tracey E. Bregman (“Y&R”), Peggy McCay (“Days”), Gina Tognoni (“Y&R”), Maura West (“GH”), and Laura Wright (“GH”).

Melissa Claire Egan (“Y&R”) earned her fifth Supporting Actress nomination last year; this year she aims for a promotion in the lead race. And “Days” vet Alison Sweeney is still aiming for her first nomination.

Peter Bergman, “The Young and the Restless”
Eric Braeden, “The Young and the Restless”
Tyler Christopher, “General Hospital”
Daniel Cosgrove, “Days of Our Lives”
Doug Davidson, “The Young and the Restless”
Anthony Geary, “General Hospital”
Justin Hartley, “The Young and the Restless”
Christian LeBlanc, “The Young and the Restless”
John McCook, “The Bold and the Beautiful”
Billy Miller, “The Young and the Restless”
Jason Thompson, “General Hospital”

Defending champ Billy Miller (“Y&R”) is back to defend his title. All of his pre-nominated co-stars are previous Lead Actor winners as well: Peter Bergman, Eric Braeden, Doug Davidson, and Christian LeBlanc. Bergman, Davidson, and LeBlanc were also nominated against Miller last year.

But they’ll have to get past another returning nominee, Jason Thompson (“GH”) and Thompson’s co-star Anthony Geary, who holds the record as the most awarded actor in Daytime Emmys history, with seven Lead Actor victories.

Of this year’s contenders, only Justin Hartley (“Y&R”) has never been nominated before.

Did Eric Martsolf (‘Days’) nab surprise Daytime Emmy by choosing drugs over babies?

Linsey Godfrey, “The Bold and the Beautiful”
Nancy Lee Grahn, “General Hospital”
Amelia Heinle, “The Young and the Restless”
Elizabeth Hendrickson, “The Young and the Restless”
Finola Hughes, “General Hospital”
Lisa LoCicero, “General Hospital”
Kim Matula, “The Bold and the Beautiful”
Cady McClain, “The Young and the Restless”
Michelle Stafford, “General Hospital”
Chrishell Stause, “Days of Our Lives”
Kelly Sullivan, “The Young and the Restless”

Defending champion Amelia Heinle (“Y&R”) hopes for back-to-back Supporting Actress wins. Her co-star and Emmy rival last year, Elizabeth Hendrickson, could also return.

But the rest of this race is full of upheaval. Michelle Stafford won two Emmys for her work on “Y&R,” but this year is pre-nominated for her new role on “GH,” while Kelly Sullivan, a Supporting Actres nominee last year for “GH,” is now a pre-nominee for “Y&R.”

Meanwhile, “B&B’s” Linsey Godfrey and Kim Matula were both nominated for Younger Actress last year, and both graduate to the supporting category this year.

Blake Berris, “Days of Our Lives”
Darin Brooks, “The Bold and the Beautiful”
Steve Burton, “The Young and the Restless”
Sean Carrigan, “The Young and the Restless”
Scott Clifton, “The Bold and the Beautiful”
Chad Duell, “General Hospital”
Bryton James, “The Young and the Restless”
Eric Martsolf, “Days of Our Lives”
Kristoff St. John, “The Young and the Restless”
Jacob Young, “The Bold and the Beautiful”

Eric Martsolf (“Days”) was the surprise winner in this race last year, and he’s pre-nominated again against his 2013 rivals Steve Burton (“Y&R”) and Scott Clifton (“B&B”). Clifton won this award in 2012, and Burton won in 1997 for his previous role on “GH.”

Other past Emmy-winners in this category are Darin Brooks (“B&B”), Bryton James (“Y&R”), Jacob Young (“B&B”) and Kristoff St. John (“Y&R”), all of whom won past Emmys for Younger Actor.

Chad Duell (“GH”) graduates to the supporting category after earning three Younger Actor nominations, including last year. He has yet to win.

How did ‘Young and Restless’ pull off Best Drama Series upset at Daytime Emmys?

Kristen Alderson, “General Hospital”
Camila Banus, “Days of Our Lives”
Lauren Boles, “Days of Our Lives”
Ashleigh Brewer, “The Bold and the Beautiful”
Camryn Grimes, “The Young and the Restless”
Hunter King, “The Young and the Restless”
True O’Brien, “Days of Our Lives”
Ashlyn Pearce, “The Bold and the Beautiful”
Haley Pullos, “General Hospital”

These pre-nominees include the last two winners: 2012 champ Kristen Alderson (“GH”) and last year’s victor, Hunter King (“Y&R”). Joining them is another past winner, Camryn Grimes (“Y&R”), who was 10 when she won the award in 1999, making her the category’s youngest winner of all time. The other six contenders would be first-time nominees.

Bryan Craig, “General Hospital”
Max Ehrich, “The Young and the Restless”
Connor Kalopsis, “Days of Our Lives”
Casey Moss, “Days of Our Lives”
Max Page, “The Young and the Restless”
Terrell Ransom Jr., “Days of Our Lives”
Tequan Richmond, “General Hospital”
Freddie Smith, “Days of Our Lives”

This year’s pre-nominees may be relieved to have Chandler Massey out of the way. He won this category three years in a row for “Days,” but has since left the show. That may open the door for two of last year’s nominees, Bryan Craig (“GH”) and Max Ehrich (“Y&R”), who are back in contention this year.

Only one other pre-nominee has been nominated before: Freddie Smith (“Days”), who earned a bid in 2012. But this is the only acting category where there are no previous winners in contention.

More News from GoldDerby