Hey, Jim Parsons & Julianna Margulies: Look who else got snubbed by Emmys after winning

We thought four-time winner Jim Parsons (“The Big Bang Theory“) was a lock to defend his Comedy Actor crown and had predicted he would be in a tight two-way race with Jeffrey Tambor (“Transparent“) to win a record fifth trophy. Likewise, we forecast that last year’s Drama Actress winner Julianna Margulies (“The Good Wife“) would be back in the hunt this year. Instead, both were snubbed by the Emmys. 

We shouldn’t have been that surprised about Margulies going MIA, given that she had been dropped in 2013 as well. That came two years after she first won for this role and happened despite Emmy voters making room for a seventh nominee. 

How often does a reigning champ like Parsons or Margulies not get invited back the following year? One of our forum posters, Tavish, has compiled the fascinating stats and ignited a fiery forum debate, which you can join HERE.


Drama Actress
1994: Sela Ward, “Sisters
2004: Allison Janney, “The West Wing” (note: nominated in 2006)
2005: Patricia Arquette, “Medium” (note: nominated in 2007)
2010: Kyra Sedgwick, “The Closer”

Drama Actor
1987: Bruce Willis, “Moonlighting”
1988: Carroll O’Connor, “In the Heat of the Night”
1995: Mandy Patinkin, “Chicago Hope” (note: nominated in 1999 as Guest Actor)
2005: James Spader, “Boston Legal” (note: won in 2007)

Drama Supporting Actress
1988: Patricia Wettig, “Thirtysomething” (note: won Drama Actress in 1990 and 1991)
Two other champs –Katherine Heigl (“Grey’s Anatomy,” 2007) and Cherry Jones (“24,” 2009) — did not submit themselves the following year. 

Drama Supporting Actor
1987: John Hillerman, Magnum P.I.
1992: Richard Dysart, “L.A. Law”
1994: Fyvush Finkel, “Picket Fences”
1998: Gordon Clapp, NYPD Blue”
2007: Terry O’Quinn, “Lost” (note: nominated in 2010)


Comedy Actress
1985: Jane Curtin, “Kate & Allie (note: nominated in 1987)
2003: Debra Messing, “Will & Grace (note: nominated in 2006)
2005: Felicity Huffman, “Desperate Housewives (note: nominated in 2007)
Candice Bergen (“Murphy Brown”) stopped submitting herself after her fifth win in 1995.

Comedy Actor
1992: Craig T. Nelson, “Coach”
2001: Eric McCormack, “Will & Grace” (note: nominated in 2003 & 2005)
2012: Jon Cryer, “Two and a Half Men”

Comedy Supporting Actress
1991: Bebe Neuwirth, “Cheers”
1999: Kristen Johnston, “3rd Rock from the Sun”
2008: Jean Smart, “Samantha Who?”
2013: Merrit Wever, “Nurse Jackie”

Comedy Supporting Actor
1991: Jonathan Winters, “Davis Rules”
1997: Michael Richards, “Seinfeld”
2001: Peter MacNicol, “Ally McBeal”
2006-2008: Jeremy Piven, “Entourage”
2012: Eric Stonestreet, “Modern Family”
John Larroquette (“Night Court”) stopped submitting himself after his fourth win in 1988.

Without Parsons in the race, do you think Tambor is a lock? Make your predictions for Best Comedy Actor below using our easy drag-and-drop menu. Make all of your Emmy predictions and you could win a place of honor on our leaderboard, a starring role in next year’s Top 24 Users and one of three contest prizes: $500 for first place, $300 for second place, and $200 for third place. Prizes will be bestowed as gift certificates to be redeemed at Amazon. See our contest rules for more info.

More News from GoldDerby