Will ‘Game of Thrones’ break Emmys curse against HBO drama series?

At this year’s Emmys, “Game of Thrones,” leads among all shows with a jaw-dropping 24 bids, including Best Drama Series. Of our first four Experts to weigh in with their predictions, three — Joyce Eng (TV Guide), Tom O’Neil (Gold Derby) and Matt Roush (TV Guide Magazine) — are backing this fantasy show for the win. 

I am the only one holding out, opting instead for “Mad Men,” which has already won this award four times and would set a record if it takes home this trophy for its final season. Why am I not predicting “Game of Thrones” to finally prevail on its fifth nomination? 

Dish all the Emmy races in our red-hot forums

I am mindful of the fact that HBO has only two wins to show for its 20 nominations in this top category. Both of those were for “The Sopranos” (2004, 2007), which racked up eight nominations in all. (See the full list of also-rans below).

Add to that the TV academy’s bias against fantasy shows (“Lost” is the only one to ever win this award) and the need for voters to give one of their favorites a farewell hug and that is why I am backing “Mad Men.” 

What do you think will win Best Drama Series? Make your predictions to the left or below using our easy menu. Average Gold Derby users just like YOU turn out to be our smartest prognosticators, so it’s important that you give us your predictions. Your picks influence our User racetrack odds, which also factor into our official combined odds.

Make all of your Emmy predictions and you could win a place of honor on our leaderboard, a starring role in next year’s Top 24 Users (the two dozen folks who do the best predicting this year’s Emmy winners), and one of three contest prizes: $500 for first place, $300 for second place, and $200 for third place. Prizes will be bestowed as gift certificates to be redeemed at Amazon. See our contest rules for more info.

The eight HBO shows that have contended for Best Drama Series are listed below, with the years and winners noted. 

“The Sopranos” (8 nominations, 2 wins)
1999: “The Practice”
2000: “The West Wing”
2001: “The West Wing”
2002: “The West Wing”
2003: “The West Wing”
2004: WON
2006: “24”
2007: WON

“Six Feet Under” (2 nominations)
2003: “The West Wing”
2005: “Lost”

“Deadwood” (1 nomination)
2005: “Lost”

“Big Love” (1 nomination)
2009: “Mad Men”

“True Blood” (1 nomination)
2010: “Mad Men”

“Boardwalk Empire” (2 nominations)
2011: “Mad Men”
2012: “Homeland”

“Game of Thrones” (4 nominations)
2011: “Mad Men”
2012: “Homeland”
2013: “Breaking Bad”
2014: “Breaking Bad”

“True Detective” (1 nomination)
2014: “Breaking Bad”

More News from GoldDerby