Kendrick Lamar and Taylor Swift lead MTV Video Music Awards nominations

Taylor Swift reaped nine bids for this year’s MTV Video Music Awards, for her single “Blank Space” as well as her collaboration with Kendrick Lamar on “Bad Blood,” but Lamar actually surpassed her with a whopping 13 nominations total. (See the full list of nominations here.)

The lion’s share of Lamar’s nominations came for “Bad Blood,” which is up for Video of the Year, Best Collaboration and a sweep of professional categories: Best Direction, Best Art Direction, Best Cinematography, Best Editing and Best Visual Effects. Additionally, his video for “Alright” also competes for Video of the Year, along with Best Male Video, Best Hip Hop Video and Best Direction. His last two bids are for “Never Catch Me” with Flying Lotus.

Join in the fierce fight over the MTV VMA nominations
going on right now in our red-hot message boards

In addition to Swift’s seven nominations for “Bad Blood,” she contends twice for “Blank Space”: Best Female Video and Best Pop Video.

Next in line with six nominations is Ed Sheeran. Four of those are for the single “Thinking Out Loud”: Video of the Year, Best Male Video, Best Pop Video and Best Cinematography. He contends twice more for “Don’t”: Best Choreography and Best Editing.

Last year’s nomination leader, Beyonce, dropped from eight bids to five, all for her hit “7/11.” She’ll battle Swift and Sheeran for Video of the Year and also competes for Best Female Video, Best Pop Video, Best Choreography and Best Editing.

Also with five nominations are Mark Ronson and Bruno Mars, whose chart-topping collaboration on “Uptown Funk” resulted in bids for Video of the Year, Best Male Video, Best Pop Video, Best Collaboration and Best Direction.

Diplo, FKA Twigs, Nicki Minaj and Skrillex trail with three bids apiece.

Winners in most of the top categories will be decided by fan voting. This year’s kudocast will air live across the MTV network of channels on Aug. 30 at 8 p.m. EST from the Microsoft Theater in the L.A. Live complex. Miley Cyrus, last year’s winner for Video of the Year (“Wrecking Ball“), will host.

More News from GoldDerby