SAG Awards (TV): 10 sizzling stats, records and facts

Screen Actors Guild voters broke their pattern of repeat television winners in many cases Sunday night. Indeed, none of this year’s individual champs had won for these current roles before.

Of the newly-declared champs, Uzo Aduba (“Orange is the New Black“) and Mark Ruffalo (“The Normal Heart“) have their first career SAG trophies. Viola Davis (“How to Get Away with Murder“), William H. Macy (“Shameless“), Frances McDormand (“Olive Kitteridge“), and Kevin Spacey (“House of Cards“) had previous victories but for different film and TV projects.

Related: Complete list of 2014 SAG Awards winners

The cast of “Orange is the New Black” knocked off four-time reigning champ “Modern Family” as Best TV Comedy Ensemble. That show had won this category the most of any ensemble, one more than “Seinfeld” (1994, 1996, 1997).

Prior to this year, the only African-American actor or actress to win an individual TV award for drama or comedy was Chandra Wilson (“Grey’s Anatomy”). Aduba and Davis now join her ranks with their victories Sunday night.

While Meryl Streep has more SAG film nominations than anyone else with 16, Edie Falco blew that number away with her record-setting 21st nod this year. All of Falco’s bids have been for her television work, including this year’s bid as Best TV Comedy Actress for “Nurse Jackie.” She has five trophies on her shelf for “The Sopranos.”

With a loss Sunday, Julianna Margulies remains tied with Alec Baldwin for all-time SAG champ; they each have won a record eight trophies in their careers.

Julia Louis-Dreyfus (“Veep“) remains in second place with six wins (she is tied with Allison Janney). She lost both of her bids Sunday night for Best TV Comedy Actress and Best TV Comedy Ensemble.

Related: Oscar races heat up after PGA and SAG shockers

The Golden Globes and SAG Awards really did not agree about the best in television from 2014. Even though they are only separated by two weeks, the only winner at both ceremonies is Spacey. Globe champs not even nominated at SAG were: Ruth Wilson and her show “The Affair,” Jeffrey Tambor and his show “Transparent,” Gina Rodriguez (“Jane the Virgin”), Matt Bomer (“The Normal Heart”), and Joanne Froggatt (although she is part of the “Downton Abbey” ensemble win at SAG).

Among the 21 drama and comedy nominees, only Peter Dinklage (“Game of Thrones“), Tatiana Maslany (“Orphan Black“), Jim Parsons (“The Big Bang Theory”), Amy Poehler (“Parks and Recreation”), and Robin Wright (“House of Cards“) remain without SAG Awards wins in their careers.

Four of the five nominees for Best TV Movie/Miniseries Actor have never won at SAG: Adrien Brody (“Houdini“), Benedict Cumberbatch (“Sherlock: His Last Vow“), Richard Jenkins (“Olive Kitteridge“), and Billy Bob Thornton (“Fargo“).

Two nominees as Best TV Movie/Miniseries Actress have never won at SAG: Ellen Burstyn (“Petals on the Wind“) and Maggie Gyllenhaal (“The Honourable Woman“).

More News from GoldDerby