Tina Fey & Amy Poehler hosting ‘Saturday Night Live’ Christmas episode: Will they get gifted with Emmys?

tina fey amy poehler saturday night live snl emmy awards 13579086

Get ready to laugh this Christmas, as NBC has announced that Tina Fey and Amy Poehler will return to their “Saturday Night Live” stomping grounds to co-host the December 19 episode. Bruce Springsteen and the E Street Band will be the musical guest. They are promoting their comedy flick “Sisters,” in which they play a pair of siblings who have a party at their childhood home. 

Two of the show’s most successful stars, Fey has amassed a whopping eight Emmy wins throughout her career while Poehler, infamously, has been skunked. Might this popular duo rake in a pair of guest-hosting Emmys for their return to “SNL”?

Oscar nailbiter: Will female-driven films make a comeback in Best Picture lineup?

Fey’s Emmy haul to date has been across five categories for both “30 Rock” — Best Comedy Series (2007, 2008, 2009), Best Comedy Writing (2008, 2013) and Best Comedy Actress (2008) — and “Saturday Night Live” — Best Variety Writing (2002) and Comedy Guest Actress (2009). This year, she brought her career total to 39 nominations with five additional bids: Comedy Series and Guest Actress for “Unbreakable Kimmy Schmidt,” hosting and writing the Golden Globes and writing the “SNL” 40th anniversary special.

Meanwhile, in slightly over a decade, Poehler has lost a staggering 17 times at the Emmys. Two were from her time as a regular cast member on “SNL.” Then she starred in, wrote and produced “Parks and Recreation,” earning six nods as Best Comedy Actress, two for Best Comedy Series and one for Best Comedy Writing. She also contended along with Fey in the Special Class category for both hosting and writing the Golden Globe Awards in 2013, 2014 and 2015.

It would be the greatest Christmas present of all for Poehler’s long-awaited first Emmy victory to come for the show that originally made her a household name. However, if she were to lose yet again for “SNL,” shouldn’t Fey just toss her one from her own mantel?

Donald Trump as ‘Saturday Night Live’ host: An Emmy winner?

Ever since the TV academy allowed “SNL” hosts to compete in the Comedy Guest Actor/Actress races in 2009, we’ve seen a complete overhaul of those categories. Below, see a list of all of the “SNL” hosts that won Emmys over the past seven years … and those that lost.

61st Emmys (2009)
Justin Timberlakewinner
Tina Feywinner

62nd Emmys (2010)
Betty Whitewinner
Tina Feynominated

63rd Emmys (2011)
Justin Timberlakewinner
Zach Galifianakisnominated
Tina Fey – nominated

64th Emmys (2012)
Jimmy Fallon – winner
Melissa McCarthynominated
Maya Rudolphnominated

65th Emmys (2013)
Louis C.K.nominated
Justin Timberlake – nominated
Melissa McCarthynominated
Kristen Wiignominated

66th Emmys (2014)
Jimmy Fallon – winner
Louis C.K. – nominated
Tina Fey – nominated
Melissa McCarthy – nominated

67th Emmys (2015)
Louis C.K. – nominated
Bill Hader – nominated

Subscribe to Gold Derby Breaking News Alerts & Experts’ Latest Oscar Predictions

Photo Credits: Alex J. Berliner/BEI/REX Shutterstock

More News from GoldDerby