Tony Awards: Alex Sharp, Ruthie Ann Miles and Richard McCabe win for Broadway debuts

Three performers — Alex Sharp, Richard McCabe and Ruthie Ann Miles — won Tony Awards for their Broadway debut. These victories put them in a freshman club that now has 90 members. 

Sharp, who won for his portrayal of socially awkward genius Christopher Boone in “Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time,” is the fifteenth Best Actor (Play) champ to take home the trophy for his first time on Broadway. He joins:

Paul Scofield for “A Man for All Seasons” (1962);
Cliff Gorman for “Lenny” (1972);
John Kani and Winston Ntshona (joint nomination) for “Sizwe Banzi is Dead/The Island” (1975);
Tom Conti for “Whose Life is it Anyway?” (1979);
Harvey Fierstein for “Torch Song Trilogy” (1983);
Jeremy Irons for “The Real Thing” (1984);
Ralph Fiennes for “Hamlet” (1995);
Stephen Dillane for “The Real Thing” (2000);
Jefferson Mays for “I Am My Own Wife” (2004);
Richard Griffiths for “The History Boys” (2006);
Mark Rylance for “Boeing Boeing” (2008);
Geoffrey Rush for “Exit the King” (2009);
Tracy Letts for “Who’s Afraid of Virginia Woolf?” (2013); and 
Bryan Cranston for “All the Way” (2014)

Miles, who claimed her prize for playing Lady Thiang in “The King and I,” is the twelfth Featured Actress (Musical) winner to win for their first turn on Broadway. She joins:

Isabel Bigley, “Guys and Dolls” (1951);
Carol Haney, “The Pajama Game” (1955);
Anna Quayle, Stop the World – I Want to Get Off” (1963);
Tessie O’Shea, “The Girl Who Came to Supper” (1964);
Dee Dee Bridgewater, “The Wiz” (1975);
Carlin Glynn, “The Best Little Whorehouse in Texas” (1979);
Lila Kedrova, “Zorba” (1984);
Leilani Jones, “Grind” (1985);
Frances Ruffelle, “Les Misérables” (1987);
Andrea Martin, “My Favorite Year” (1993); and
Gretha Boston, “Show Boat” (1995).

And McCabe, who prevailed for his portrayl of two-time British Prime Minister Harold Wilson, is the nineteenth winner of Featured Actor (Play) for their Broadway debut. In this category that has rewarded the most Broadway debuts, he joins:

Patrick Magee, “Marat/Sade” (1966);
Ian Holm, “The Homecoming” (1967);
Al Pacino, “Does a Tiger Wear a Necktie?” (1969);
John Lithgow, “The Changing Room” (1973);
Jonathan Pryce, “Comedians” (1977);
Brian Backer, “The Floating Light Bulb” (1981);
Matthew Broderick, “Brighton Beach Memoirs” (1983);
Barry Miller, “Biloxi Blues” (1985);
John Mahoney, “The House of Blue Leaves” (1986);
B.D. Wong, “M. Butterfly” (1988);
Boyd Gaines, “The Heidi Chronicles” (1989);
Laurence Fishburne, “Two Trains Running” (1992);
Stephen Spinella, “Angels in America: Millennium Approaches” (1993);
Owen Teale, “A Doll’s House” (1997);
Tom Murphy, “The Beauty Queen of Leeane” (1998);
Frank Wood, “Side Man” (1999);
Ian McDiarmid, “Faith Healer” (2006); and
Eddie Redmayne, “Red” (2010).

Below, the freshman champs in the other five acting categories.

Best Actress (Play): 10 winners
Martita Hunt, “The Madwoman of Chaillot” (1949);
Beryl Reid, “The Killing of Sister George” (1967);
Phyllis Frelich, “Children of a Lesser God” (1980);
Jane Lapotaire, “Piaf” (1981);
Joan Allen, “Burn This” (1988);
Pauline Collins, “Shirley Valentine” (1989);
Janet McTeer, “A Doll’s House” (1997);
Marie Mullen, “The Beauty Queen of Leeane” (1998);
Jennifer Ehle, “The Real Thing” (2000); and
Deanna Dunagan, “August: Osage County” (2008).

Best Actor (Musical): 10 winners
Ezio Pinza, “South Pacific” (1950);
Robert Alda, “Guys and Dolls” (1951);
Robert Lindsay, “Me and My Girl” (1987);
Brent Carver, “Kiss of the Spider Woman” (1993);
Alan Cumming, “Cabaret” (1998);
Hugh Jackman, “The Boy From Oz” (2004);
John Lloyd Young, “Jersey Boys” (2006);
Paulo Szot, “South Pacific” (2008);
David Álvarez, Trent Kowalik and Kiril Kulish (joint nomination), “Billy Elliot” (2009); and 
Douglas Hodge, “La Cage aux Folles” (2010).

Best Actress (Musical): 7 winners
Elizabeth Seal, “Irma La Douce” (1961);
Anna Maria Alberghetti, “Carnival” (1962);
Liza Minnelli, “Flora the Red Menace” (1965);
Leslie Uggams, “Hallelujah, Baby” (1968″);
Alexis Smith, “Follies” (1972);
Natalia Makarova, “On Your Toes” (1983); and 
Catherine Zeta-Jones, “A Little Night Music” (2010).

Best Featured Actor (Musical): 7 winners
Harry Belafonte, “John Murray Anderson’s Almanac” (1954);
Sydney Chaplin, “Bells are Ringing” (1957);
Frankie Michaels, “Mame” (1966);
Wilson Jermaine Heredia, “Rent” (1996);
Dan Fogler, “The 25th Annual Putnam County Spelling Bee” (2005);
Levi Kreis, “Million Dollar Quartet” (2010); and 
John Larroquette, “How to Succeed in Business Without Really Trying” (2011).

Best Featured Actress (Play): 11 winners
Patricia Neal for “Another Part of the Forest” (1947);
Patricia Jessel for “Witness for the Prosecution” (1955);
Anne Bancroft for “Two for the Seesaw” (1958);
Zena Walker for “A Day in the Death of Joe Egg” (1968);
Jane Alexander for “The Great White Hope” (1969);
Dinah Manoff for “I Ought to be in Pictures” (1980);
Brid Brennan for “Dancing at Lughnasa” (1992);
Scarlett Johansson for “A View From the Bridge” (2010); and
Ellen Barkin for “The Normal Heart” (2011); and 
Sophie Okonedo for “A Raisin in the Sun” (2014). 

More News from GoldDerby