ACM Awards announce Song of the Year nominees: Chris Stapleton, Little Big Town …

chris stapleton little big town acm awards song of the year

The Academy of Country Music Awards have announced the nominees in their last two categories: Song of the Year and Songwriter of the Year. The academy announced the majority of their nominees on February 1, and all winners will be presented on Sunday, April 3, at 8:00pm Eastern Time during a ceremony to be broadcast live on CBS and hosted by nominees Luke Bryan and Dierks Bentley.

Subscribe to Gold Derby Breaking News Alerts & Experts’ Latest Oscar Predictions

“The ACM Board of Directors recently voted to revise the prestigious Song of the Year Award criteria to allow the greater songwriting community a stronger voice in determining the final nominees,” said Tiffany Moon, Executive Vice President and Managing Director of the Academy of Country Music. This year a professional panel of award-winning songwriters helped select the nominees for the category that were then voted on by the Composer class of ACM Membership to appear on the final ballot.

The resulting nominees for Song of the Year are:

Burning House” – Cam
Written by Jeffrey Bhasker, Tyler Johnson, Cam

Girl Crush” – Little Big Town
Written by Hillary Lindsey, Lori McKenna, Liz Rose

Nobody to Blame” – Chris Stapleton
Written by Chris Stapleton, Barry Bales, Ronnie Bowman

Raise ‘Em Up” – Keith Urban and Eric Church
Written by Tom Douglas, Jaren Johnston, Jeffrey Steele

She Don’t Love You” – Eric Paslay
Written by Eric Paslay, Jennifer Wayne

And the nominees for Songwriter of the Year are Rodney Clawson, Ross Copperman, Ashley Gorley, Shane McAnally and Josh Osborne.

The award for Song of the Year is awarded to the artist, the songwriters and the publishers, so the two nominations for Stapleton as writer and artist on “Nobody to Blame” bring his nominations total to seven, which make him the single most nominated artist of the year.

Church’s nomination for “Raise ‘Em Up” gives him six total bids. Cam also has six total nominations this year thanks to her two nominations for writing and performing “Burning House.”

Little Big Town now has five total nominations, though one member of that group, Karen Fairchild, has a sixth nomination for Vocal Event of the Year for singing “Home Alone Tonight” with Luke Bryan.

Dish all the music awards races in our red-hot forums with Hollywood insiders

Who do you think will win?

Make your ACM Awards predictions starting with Song of the Year to the right or at the bottom of this post.

You’ll compete to win our contest prize for best picks — a $100 Amazon gift certificate — as well as a place of honor on our leaderboard and a starring role in next year’s Top 24 Users (the two dozen folks who do the best predicting this year’s DGA winners). Be sure to read our contest rules.

Photo credits: Chris Stapleton by ABC; Little Big Town by CBS

More News from GoldDerby