American Society of Cinematographers Awards: Oscar frontrunner Emmanuel Lubezki (‘The Revenant’) wins

As expected Oscar frontrunner Emmanuel Lubezki (“The Revenant“) won the American Society of Cinematographers award for Best Feature Film at the 30th annual edition of these kudos on Sunday (Feb. 14). Also contending for this top guild honor were three other Oscar nominees — Roger Deakins ( “Sicario” ), Ed Lachman (“Carol“) and John Seale  (“Mad Max: Fury Road“) — as well as Janusz Kaminski (“Bridge of Spies“). The Oscar race is rounded out by Robert Richardson (“The Hateful Eight” ).  

Subscribe to Gold Derby Breaking News Alerts & Experts’ Latest Oscar Predictions

Lubezki has now gone five for seven with the ASC, including wins last year for “Birdman” and in 2013 for “Gravity” (he also won Oscars for those) as well as “Children of Men” (2006) and “The Tree of Life” (2011).  He has leading odds of 2/13 to pull off the same three-peat at the Oscars

Seale had prevailed on the second of his four previous ASC bids for “The English Patient” (1996) and repeated at the Oscars.  He has odds of 14/1 to pull off an upset at this year’s Academy Awards. 

Deakins has won three of his 14 ASC bids — “The Shawshank Redemption” (1994); “The Man Who Wasn’t There” (2001) and “Skyfall” (2012) — but has yet to take home an Oscar despite a dozen nominations. He has odds of 40/1 to finally break that losing streak. 

Lachman who contended here and at the Oscars for a previous project with “Carol” helmer Todd Haynes (“Far From Heaven,” 2002) has odds of 66/1. 

Over its 30-year history, the ASC has predicted 118 of the 150 Oscar nominees, including four of this year’s five contenders. However, the ASC choice for the best in the business has presaged the eventual winner at the Oscars only 12 times in 29 years. Besides Lubezki’s back-to-back wins for “Gravity” and “Birdman,” the other repeat champs were: 

Dean Semler, “Dances with Wolves” (1990)
John Toll, “Braveheart” (1995)
John Seale, “The English Patient” (1996)
Russell Carpenter, “Titanic” (1997)
Conrad L. Hall, “American Beauty” (1999)
Conrad L. Hall, “Road to Perdition” (2002)
Dion Beebe, “Memoirs of a Geisha” (2005)
Robert Elswit, “There Will Be Blood” (2007)
Anthony Dod Mantle, “Slumdog Millionaire” (2008)
Wally Pfister, “Inception” (2010)

At the ASC awardsfest, which took place at the Beverly Hilton, lenser Vanja Cernjul won the TV series award for “The Fourth Step” episode of the Netflix import “Marco Polo.” Pierre Gill claimed the TV movie/miniseries/pilot prize for the pilot of Amazon’s “Casanova.” And filmmaker Ridley Scott was feted with the Governors’ Award. 

Dish all the Oscar and guild races in our red-hot forums with Hollywood insiders

Who will win Best Cinematography? Make your Oscar predictions beginning with this category to the right or at the bottom of this post.

You’ll compete to win our contest prizes for best picks — $500 (first place), $300 (second place) and $200 (third place) in Amazon gift certificates — a place of honor on our leaderboard and a starring role in next year’s Top 24 Users (the two dozen folks who do the best predicting this year’s Oscar winners). Be sure to read our contest rules.

More News from GoldDerby