[PHOTOS] ‘Dancing with the Stars’: All 22 winners, including Nyle DiMarco

Nyle DiMarco made history by winning season 22 of “Dancing with the Stars” on May 24, 2016. He’s the first deaf contestant to win the prize and he’s the first winner since Donald Driver in season 14 to claim the Mirror Ball Trophy without getting the highest score in the finals. At 27, he’s also one of the youngest male winners in the show’s history; Apolo Anton Ohno holds that record, having won season four when he was 25.

[WATCH] ‘Dancing with the Stars’: Was Nyle DiMarco’s freestyle really the show’s best ever?

DiMarco, who came to fame by winning the final season of “America’s Next Top Model” in December 2015, was partnered with Peta Murgatroyd. She is now a two-time champ and the sixth pro dancer to win multiple seasons of the show. However, she’s still got a long way to go if she wants to catch all-time record-holder Derek Hough who can boast of six wins.

The “DWTS” finals came down to a close battle between DiMarco, “Good Morning America” meteorologist Ginger Zee, and mixed martial artist Paige VanZant. VanZant was the top scoring contestant of the finals and of the season as a whole, but she couldn’t overcome the sentimental favorite, who demonstrated impressive rhythm and musicality without ever being able to hear the music.

More News from GoldDerby