[POLL] ‘Dancing with the Stars’ past winners: Kelly Monaco vs. Bindi Irwin – who’s the best female champion?

Last week Gold Derby asked our readers to name the best female champion in “Dancing with the Stars” history. Twelve past winners in the last 22 seasons have been women, so we split the question into two parts: who was the best female celeb to win from season 1 to 11, and who was the best to win from season 2 to 22? The results are in, and now you can decide between the two top vote-getters: Kelly Monaco (season one) and Bindi Irwin (season 21). Vote for your favorite below and scroll through all 22 past winners of “DWTS” above.

Photo Gallery: ‘Dancing with the Stars’ Top 10 BEST Pro Dancers Ever

Emmy-nominated “General Hospital” star Monaco was the first winner in “DWTS” history, and she won the first half of our poll in a landslide, receiving 56% of the vote. Finishing a distant second was Olympic gymnast Shawn Johnson (season eight) with 17%, followed by singer Nicole Scherzinger (season 10) with 11%, Olympic figure skater Kristi Yamaguchi (season six) with 8%, and Brooke Burke (season seven) and Jennifer Grey (season 11) with 4% of reader votes apiece.

In deciding the best of the six most recent winners, our readers were more divided. Wildlife conservationist Irwin won with 28% of the vote, narrowly defeating Olympic figure skater Meryl Davis (season 18), who had 26%. Further behind were actress Rumer Willis (season 20) with 16%, country singer Kellie Pickler (season 16) with 11%, actress Amber Riley (season 17) with 10% and reality TV star Melissa Rycroft (season 15) with 9%.

Photo Gallery: ‘Dancing with the Stars’ Top 10 WORST contestants ever

So who was the best of the best? Vote below, and discuss “Dancing with the Stars” in our reality TV forum. You can make your predictions for the season 23 right now in our predictions center. And keep up with the latest racetrack odds.

More News from GoldDerby