Hey, Uzo Aduba: Look who else got snubbed by Emmys after winning

We thought two-time champ Uzo Aduba (“Orange is the New Black”) was a lock to defend her Drama Supporting Actress crown. However, her name was absent from Thursday’s announcement of this year’s Emmy Awards nominations. The same fate befell four-time Comedy Actor champ Jim Parsons (“The Big Bang Theory”) and 2014 Drama Actress winner Julianna Margulies (“The Good Wife”) last year. Neither of them reaped a bid this year as well.

How often does a reigning champ like Aduba, Parsons or Margulies not get invited back the following year? One of our forum posters, Tavish, has compiled the fascinating stats dating back to 1980.

Emmy Awards: Complete list of nominations


Drama Actress
1994: Sela Ward, “Sisters
2004: Allison Janney, “The West Wing” (note: nominated in 2006)
2005: Patricia Arquette, “Medium” (note: nominated in 2007)
2010: Kyra Sedgwick, “The Closer”
2014: Julianna Margulies, “The Good Wife”

Drama Actor
1987: Bruce Willis, “Moonlighting”
1989: Carroll O’Connor, “In the Heat of the Night”
1995: Mandy Patinkin, “Chicago Hope” (note: nominated in 1999 as Guest Actor)
2005: James Spader, “Boston Legal” (note: won in 2007)

Drama Supporting Actress
1988: Patricia Wettig, “Thirtysomething” (note: won Drama Actress in 1990 and 1991)
Two other champs –Katherine Heigl (“Grey’s Anatomy,” 2007) and Cherry Jones (“24,” 2009) — did not submit themselves the following year.

Drama Supporting Actor
1987: John Hillerman, Magnum P.I.
1992: Richard Dysart, “L.A. Law”
1994: Fyvush Finkel, “Picket Fences”
1998: Gordon Clapp, NYPD Blue”
2007: Terry O’Quinn, “Lost” (note: nominated in 2010)

Sign up to get Gold Derby’s free newsletter with experts’ latest predictions and breaking news


Comedy Actress
1985: Jane Curtin, “Kate & Allie (note: nominated in 1987)
2003: Debra Messing, “Will & Grace (note: nominated in 2006)
2005: Felicity Huffman, “Desperate Housewives (note: nominated in 2007)
Candice Bergen (“Murphy Brown”) stopped submitting herself after her fifth win in 1995.

Comedy Actor
1992: Craig T. Nelson, “Coach”
2001: Eric McCormack, “Will & Grace” (note: nominated in 2003 & 2005)
2012: Jon Cryer, “Two and a Half Men”
2014: Jim Parsons, “The Big Bang Theory”

Comedy Supporting Actress
1991: Bebe Neuwirth, “Cheers”
1999: Kristen Johnston, “3rd Rock from the Sun”
2008: Jean Smart, “Samantha Who?”
2013: Merrit Wever, “Nurse Jackie”

Comedy Supporting Actor
1991: Jonathan Winters, “Davis Rules”
1997: Michael Richards, “Seinfeld”
2001: Peter MacNicol, “Ally McBeal”
2006-2008: Jeremy Piven, “Entourage”
2012: Eric Stonestreet, “Modern Family”
John Larroquette (“Night Court”) stopped submitting himself after his fourth win in 1988.

Join the live Emmy Awards debate going on right now in our feisty forums

More News from GoldDerby