[WATCH] Emmy Awards flashback: Peter MacNicol ‘so scared’ after winning for ‘Ally McBeal’ in 2001

“I’m so scared,” said a visibly shaken Peter MacNicol when he won the Emmy Award for “Ally McBeal” in 2001. “The only remarks I prepared were some brief words to my parents explaining why I lost.” Watch his acceptance speech above.

Unfortunately, MacNicol won’t be winning a bookend trophy for “Veep” this year. The Best Comedy Guest Actor nomination he received last week for playing political consultant Jeff Kane on “Veep” has been rescinded after Gold Derby asked the TV academy about his eligibility to appear on the guest ballot. He popped up in five of 10 episodes, bringing his appearance rate to 50% and taking him out of guest-star contention. Read the full story here.

Sign up to get Gold Derby’s free newsletter with experts’ latest predictions and breaking news

MacNicol won his first and only Emmy in 2001 after two consecutive losses for playing quirky lawyer John Cage on the Fox dramedy. His rivals that year in the Best Comedy Supporting Actor category were Peter Boyle (“Everybody Loves Raymond”), Robert Downey Jr. (“Ally McBeal”), Sean Hayes (“Will & Grace”) and David Hyde Pierce (“Frasier”).

At the podium, MacNicol praised his “Ally McBeal” creator, cast and crew. “David E. Kelley, who I think has been my constant employer for about eight years, thank you for this stunning, odd role. I’m so grateful for the chance to have played it, for the chance to have worked with this crew and this cast for their artistry and the sheer pleasure of their company.”

Join the live Emmy Awards debate going on right now in our feisty forums

What will happen to MacNicol’s now-vacant slot? “A disqualification would elevate the seventh highest vote-getter to the sixth position and a nomination,” an academy insider tells us. We are still waiting to see who that lucky man will be.

The other five nominees this year for Best Comedy Guest Actor are Larry David (“Saturday Night Live”), Tracy Morgan (“Saturday Night Live”), Martin Mull (“Veep”), Bob Newhart (“The Big Bang Theory”) and last year’s winner Bradley Whitford (“Transparent”).

Make your Emmy predictions — CLICK HERE
Win $500, top spot on our leaderboard & a place in next year’s Top 24

Be sure to make your Emmy predictions right here. You’ll compete to win our contest prizes for best picks — $500 (first place), $300 (second place) and $200 (third place) in Amazon gift certificates — a place of honor on our leaderboard and a starring role in next year’s Top 24 Users (the two dozen folks who do the best predicting this year’s Emmy nominations). Be sure to read our contest rules.

More News from GoldDerby