Gold Derby Film Awards 2015: Vote NOW for nominations

star wars inside out ex machina spotlight

Will this year’s Gold Derby Film Awards reflect the Oscar’s eventual choices? Or should they avoid this year’s presumptive academy favorites entirely? The choice is yours. You can vote for the nominees in the 14th Annual Gold Derby Film Awards starting right now.

Subscribe to Gold Derby Breaking News Alerts & Experts’ Latest Oscar Predictions

To vote, click here to visit our predictions center. Then click the box in the menu at the top of the page for the “Gold Derby Film Awards Nominations 2015” and vote in as many or as few categories as you like. Select your top three favorites in each category, arranged in order of preference. Your number-one choice will get three points, your number-two choice gets two points, and your number-three choice gets one point. The top five scorers in each category will be the final nominees.

There’s one exception: Best Picture. There will be 10 nominees in that category, so you can vote for your top five favorites, with five points going to your number-one choice down to one point for your fifth place choice.

Haven’t seen all the contenders yet? Don’t worry. You can vote now and edit your ballot as often as you like until voting closes on Tuesday, January 26, at 11:59pm Eastern Time. Nominees will be announced on Thursday, January 28.

From 2002 to 2010, voting was conducted via secret ballot through our message boards, and during that time, five out of our nine Best Picture winners matched the Oscars’ choice.

Voting moved to our quick and easy predictions center in 2011, and our users agreed with the academy for three years in a row, picking “The Artist” (2011), “Argo” (2012), and “12 Years a Slave” (2013) as the Best Pictures of the Year. But our users deviated last year, picking “Boyhood” for Best Picture and Best Director (Richard Linklater) instead of eventual Oscar-champ “Birdman.”

All 13 of Gold Derby’s previous Best Picture champs are listed below, in addition to our special award honoring the best film of the last decade (2000-2009):

2002: “Chicago”
2003: “The Lord of the Rings: The Return of the King”
2004: “Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind”
2005: “Brokeback Mountain”
2006: “The Departed”
2007: “No Country for Old Men”
2008: “WALL-E”
2009: “The Hurt Locker”
Decade (2000-2009): “The Lord of the Rings: The Return of the King”
2010: “The Social Network”
2011: “The Artist
2012: “Argo
2013: “12 Years a Slave
2014: “Boyhood

Check out the complete history of the Gold Derby Awards

What should be this year’s top nominees and winners? It’s up to you to decide. Click here to start voting, and click here to lobby for your favorites in our forums.

“Star Wars: The Force Awakens” photo credit: Walt Disney Pictures

“Inside Out” photo credit: Moviestore/REX

“Ex Machina” photo credit: Moviestore/REX

“Spotlight” photo credit: Open Road Films

More News from GoldDerby