‘Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children’ could bring Tim Burton back to Oscars

“Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children” continues to do blockbuster business. Much of the credit for this is down to director Tim Burton, who brought his distinct visual style to this adaptation of Ronald Riggs‘ 2011 bestseller. Burton has helmed 17 films, many of which are modern-day classics, but has only been nominated twice at the Oscars for his animated features “Corpse Bride” (2005) and “Frankenweenie” (2012). His live-action films have won eight of their 18 Oscar nominations. Of these bids, only two were above-the-line: Martin Landau won Supporting Actor for “Ed Wood” in 1994 while Johnny Depp contended for Best Actor for “Sweeney Todd: The Demon Barber of Fleet Street” in 2007 (Daniel Day-Lewis won for “There Will Be Blood”).

Let’s take a closer look at the four below-the-line categories in which “Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children” is likeliest to contend.

Sign up to get Gold Derby’s free newsletter with experts’ latest predictions and breaking news

Visual Effects
Andrew Lockley won Oscars as part of the team responsible for the visual effects in Christopher Nolan’s films “Inception” (2010) and “Interstellar” (2014). And Frazer Churchill was a BAFTA nominee for “Children of Men” (2006); this would be his first Oscar nomination.

Two of Burton’s films have contended in this category: “Batman Returns” (Michael L. Fink, Craig Barron, John Bruno, and Dennis Skotak) came up short to “Death Becomes Her” (Ken Ralston, Doug Chiang, Douglas Smythe, and Tom Woodruff Jr.) in 1992 and  “Alice in Wonderland” (Ken Ralston, David Schaub, Carey Villegas, and Sean Phillips) was bested by “Inception” (Chris Corbould, Lockley, Pete Bebb, and Paul J. Franklin) in 2010.

Makeup and Hairstyling
Veronica McAleer was nominated for “Mrs. Brown” (1997), and “Shakespeare in Love” (1997). David White was an Oscar nominee for “Guardians of the Galaxy” (2014) and an Emmy nominee for “The Hunchback of Notre Dame” (1996). And Fawn Muller’s past contributions include “Thor: The Dark World” (2013), “Maleficent” and “Guardians of the Galaxy” (2014).

In 1988, Ve Neill, Steve LaPorte and Robert Short won for “Beetlejuice.” Ve Neill returned, this time with Stan Winston in 1990 for “Edward Scissorhands,” but they lost to “Dick Tracy” (John Caglione Jr. and Doug Drexler). Neil, Winston and Ronnie Specter would again be nominated in 1992 for “Batman Returns” but were edged out by “Dracula” (Greg Cannom, Michèle Burke, and Matthew W. Mungle). Neil, Rick Baker and Yolanda Toussieng prevailed in 1994 for “Ed Wood.”

Join the live Oscars debate going on right now in our world-famous forums

Costume Design
Three-time Oscar champ Colleen Atwood re-teams with Burton; she won for her work on his smash hit “Alice in Wonderland” (2010). Of her eight other Oscar nominations, two of them were for Burton films — in 1999 for their first outing together “Sleepy Hollow”  (Lindy Hemming won for “Topsy-Turvy”) and in 2007 “Sweeney Todd: The Demon Barber of Fleet Street” (Alexandra Byrne won for “Elizabeth: The Golden Age”). Another costume designer, Gabriella Pescucci, reaped an Oscar bid in 2005 for Burton’s “Charlie and the Chocolate Factory” but lost to Atwood for “Memoirs of a Geisha.”

Art Direction
All four of Burton’s films to contend in this category have won. Anton Furst & Peter Young proved victorious in 1989 for “Batman,” Young and Rick Heinrichs won a decade later in 1999 for “Sleepy Hollow,” Dante Ferretti and Francesca Lo Schiavo kept the streak going in 2007 for “Sweeney Todd: The Demon Barber of Fleet Street,” and Robert Stromberg and Karen O’Hara prevailed in 2010 for “Alice in Wonderland.”

Find out what will win at the Oscars this year

 Below a complete breakdown of Burton’s films performance at the Oscars:

“Beetlejuice” (1988)
Won Best Makeup (Ve Neill, Steve LaPorte, and Robert Short)

“Batman” (1989)
Won Art Direction (Anton Furst and Peter Young)

“Edward Scissorhands” (1990)
Nominated Best Makeup (Ve Neill and Stan Winston)

“Batman Returns” (1992)
Nominated Best Makeup (Ve Neill, Stan Winston, and Ronnie Specter)
Nominated Best Visual Effects (Michael L. Fink, Craig Barron, John Bruno, and Dennis Skotak)

“Ed Wood” (1994)
Won Supporting Actor (Martin Landau)
Won Best Makeup (Ve Neill, Rick Baker, and Yolanda Toussieng)

“Sleepy Hollow” (1999)
Won Art Direction (Rick Heinrichs, and Peter Young)
Nominated Costume Design (Colleen Atwood)
Nominated Cinematography (Emmanuel Lubezki)

“Big Fish” (2003)
Nominated Best Music (Danny Elfman)

“Charlie and the Chocolate Factory” (2005)
Nominated Costume Design (Gabriella Pescucci)

“Sweeney Todd: The Demon Barber of Fleet Street” (2007)
Won Art Direction (Dante Ferretti and Francesca Lo Schiavo)
Nominated Best Actor (Johnny Depp)
Nominated Costume Design (Colleen Atwood)

“Alice in Wonderland” (2010)
Won Art Direction (Robert Stromberg and Karen O’Hara)
Won Costume Design (Colleen Atwood)
Nominated Visual Effects (Ken Ralston, David Schaub, Carey Villegas, and Sean Phillips)

Predict the Oscar nominations now; change them till January 24

Be sure to make your Oscar predictions. Weigh in now with your picks so that Hollywood insiders can see how Amy Adams is faring in our Oscar odds. You can keep changing your predictions right up until just before nominations are announced on January 24 at 5:00 am PT/8:00 am ET. Be sure to read our contest rules. And join in the fierce debate over the Oscars taking place right now with Hollywood insiders in our forums.

More News from GoldDerby