New York Film Critics Circle Awards winner: Best Picture Oscar next for ‘La La Land’?

The New York Film Critics Circle just named “La La Land” as the Best Picture of 2016. So, does that confirm its status as the Oscar frontrunner? Last year, “Carol” was the big winner with the Gotham scribes last year claiming Best Picture as well as Best Director (Todd Haynes), Screenplay (Phyllis Nagy) and Cinematography (Ed Lachman). But it did not number among the eight Oscar nominees for Best Picture. And Haynes was overlooked by the directors branch of the academy as well. The eventual Oscar champ, “Spotlight,” was singled out by the NYFCC only for the leading performance by Michael Keaton. However, he was campaigned in supporting at the Oscars and snubbed by the acting branch.

In the 80-year history of the Circle (there was a newspaper strike in 1962), only 31 of its picks for best pic went on to win at the Oscars. That works out to an preview rate of just 39%. The most recent of these was “The Artist” in 2011 while the first was “The Life of Emile Zola” (1937). Below, we breakdown the other 29 repeat winners by decade.

Sign up to get Gold Derby’s free newsletter
with experts’ latest predictions and breaking news

1940s (5 Oscar winners)
“Going My Way” (1944)
“The Lost Weekend” (1945)
“The Best Years of Our Lives” (1946)
“Gentleman’s Agreement” (1947)
“All the King’s Men” (1949)

1950s (7 Oscar winners)
“All About Eve” (1950)
“From Here to Eternity” (1953)
“On the Waterfront” (1954)
“Marty” (1955)
“Around the World in 80 Days” (1956)
“The Bridge on the River Kwai” (1957)
“Ben-Hur” (1959)

1960s (6 Oscar winners)
“The Apartment” (1960)
“West Side Story” (1961)
“Tom Jones” (1963)
“My Fair Lady” (1964)
“A Man for All Seasons” (1966)
“In the Heat of the Night” (1967)

Join in the fierce debate about the early Oscar contenders
going on right now in our red-hot forums

1970s (3 Oscar winners)
“Annie Hall” (1977)
“The Deer Hunter” (1978)
“Kramer vs. Kramer” (1979)

1980s (3 Oscar winners)
“Ordinary People” (1980)
“Gandhi” (1982)
“Terms of Endearment” (1983)

1990s (2 Oscar winners)
“The Silence of the Lambs” (1991)
“Schindler’s List” (1993)

2000s (3 Oscar winners)
“The Lord of the Rings: The Return of the King” (2003)
“No Country for Old Men” (2007)
“The Hurt Locker” (2009)

The good news for “La La Land” is that since the Circle was formed in 1935, only nine of their top winners have not been nominated for Best Picture: “Day for Night” (1973), “Amarcord” (1974), “The Player” (1992), “Leaving Las Vegas” (1995), “Topsy-Turvy” (1999), “Mulholland Drive” (2001), “Far from Heaven” (2002), “United 93” (2006), and “Carol” (2015).

Predict the Oscar nominations now; change them till January 24

Be sure to make your Oscar predictionsWeigh in now with your picks so that Hollywood insiders can see how this film is faring in our Oscar odds. You can keep changing your predictions right up until just before nominations are announced on January 24 at 5:00 am PT/8:00 am ET. Be sure to read our contest rules. And join in the fierce debate over the Oscars taking place right now with Hollywood insiders in our forums.


More News from GoldDerby