Oscars 2017: Record 85 foreign-language film entries from A (Albania) to Y (Yemen)


A record 85 countries submitted entries in the Foreign-Language Film race at the Oscars. That is up by four from last year and break’s the benchmark of 83 set in 2014. The nations represented ranged from A (Albania) to Y (Yemen). Three other submissions — Afghanistan (“Parting”), Armenia (“Earthquake”) and Tunisia (“As I Open My Eyes”) — were not deemed eligible by the academy. And five countries that entered last year — Ethiopia, Guatemala, Ireland, Ivory Coast and Paraguay — are not part of this year’s roster.

Predicting the eventual five Oscar nominees is made difficult by the two-step process.

Sign up to get Gold Derby’s free newsletter with experts’ latest predictions and breaking news

First, the several hundred academy members of the Foreign-Language Film screening committee are divided into groups and required to watch a number of the submissions over a two-month period that ends in mid December. They will rate them from 6 to 10 and their top six vote getters make it to the next round, as will three films added by the 20 members of the executive committee.

Those nine semi-finalists will be screened three per day beginning in early January by select committee members in both Gotham and Hollywood who will then vote for the final five which will be revealed, along with the other Oscar nominations, on Jan. 24.

The entire academy membership will get screeners of these five films and vote for the winner, which will be revealed on the Oscars on Feb. 26.

Below: The entries in alphabetical order by country name, with those nations that did not submit last year but are doing so this year noted in bold.

Join the Oscars debate about this race going on right now in our world-famous forums

Albania, “Chromium,” Bujar Alimani, director;

Algeria, “The Well ,” Lofti Bouchouchi, director;

Argentina, “The Distinguished Citizen,” Mariano Cohn, Gastón Duprat, directors;

Armenia, “Earthquake,” Sarik Andreasyan, director;

Australia, “Tanna,” Martin Butler & Bentley Dean,  directors;

Austria, “Stefan Zweig: Farewell to Europe ,” Maria Schrader, director;

Bangladesh, “The Unnamed,” Tauquir Ahmed, director;

Belgium, “The Ardennes,” Robin Pront, director;

Bolivia, “Sealed Cargo,” Julia Vargas-Weise, director;

Bosnia and Herzegovina, “Death in Sarajevo,” Danis Tanovic, director;

Brazil, “Little Secret,” Daniel Schumann, director;

Bulgaria, “Losers,” Ivarlo Hristov, director;

Cambodia, “Before the Fall,” Ian White, director;

Canada, “It’s Only the End of the World,”  Xavier Dolan, director;

Chile, “Neruda,” Pablo Larraín, director;

China, “Xuan Zang,” Huo Jianqi, director;

Colombia, “Alias Maria,” José Luis Rugeles Gracia, director;

Costa Rica, “About Us,” Hernán Jiménez, director;

Croatia, “On the Other Side,” Zrinko Ogresta, director;

Cuba, “The Companion,” Pavel Giroud, director;

Czech Republic, “Lost in Munich,” Petr Zelenka, director;

Denmark, “Land of Mine,” Martin Zandvliet, director;

Dominican Republic, “Flor de Azucara,” Fernando Baez Mella, director;

Ecuador, “Such Is Life in the Tropics,” Sebastián Cordero, director;

Egypt, “Clash,” Mohamed Diab, director;

Estonia, “Mother,” Kadri Kõusaare, director;

Finland, “The Happiest Day in the Life of Olli Maki,” Juho Kuosmanen, director;

France, “Elle,” Paul Verhoeven, director;

Georgia, “Land of Others,” Rusudan Glurdjidze, director;

Germany, “Toni Erdmann,” Maren Ade, director;

Greece, “Chevalier,” Athina Rachel Tsangari, director;

Hong Kong, “Port of Call,”  Philip Yung, director;

Hungary, “Kill on Wheels,” Attila Till, director;

Iceland, “Sparrows,”  Rúnar Rúnarsson, director;

India, “Interroagation,” Vetrimaaran, director;

Indonesia, “Letters from Prague,”  Angga Dwimas Sasongko, director;

Iran, “The Salesman,”  Asghar Farhadi, director;

Iraq, “El Clasico,” Halkawt Mustafa, director;

Israel, “Sand Storm,”  Elite Zexer, director;

Italy, “Fire at Sea,” , Gianfranco Rosi, director;

Japan, “Living with My Mother,” Yoji Yamada, director;

Jordan, “3000 Nights,”  Mai Masri, director;

Kazakhstan,, “Amanat,” Satybaldy Narymbetov, director;

Kosovo, “Home Sweet Home,” Faton Bajraktari, director;

Kyrgyzstan, ” A Father’s Will,” Bakyt Mukul, Dastan Japar Uulu, directors;

Latvia,  “Dawn,” Laila Pakalniņa, director;

Lebanon, “A Very Big Shot,” Mir-Jean Bou Chaaya, director;

Lithuania, “Seneca’s Day,” Kristijonas Vildziunas, director;

Luxembourg, “Voices from Chernobyl,” Pol Cruchten, director;

Macedonia, The Liberation of Skopje,” Rade Sherbedzija, Danilo Sherbedzija, directors;

Malaysia, “Beautiful Pain,” Tunku Mona Riza, director;

Mexico, ” Desierto,” Jonás Cuarón, director;

Montenegro, “The Black Pin,” Ivan Marinovic, director;

Morocco, “A Mile in My Shoes,” Said Khallaf, director;

Nepal, “The Black Hen,” Min Bahadur Bham, director;

Netherlands, “Tonio,” Paula van der Oest, director;

New Zealand, “A Flickering Truth,” Pietra Brettkelly, director;

Norway, “The King’s Choice,” Eric Poppe, director;

Pakistan, ‘Mah e Mir,” Anjum Shahzad, director;

Palestine, “The Idol,” Hany Abu-Assad, director;

Panama, “Salsipuedes,” Ricardo Aguilar Navarro, Manuel Rodríguez, directors;

Peru, “Videophilia (and Other Viral Syndromes),”  Juan Daniel Fernández, director;

Philippines, “Ma’Rosa,” Brillante Mendoza, director;

Poland, “Afterimage,” Andrzej Wajda, director;

Portugal, “Letters from War,” Ivo Ferreira, director;

Romania, “Sieranevada,” Cristi Puiu, director;

Russia, “Paradise,” Andrei Konchalovsky, director;

Saudi Arabia, “Barakah Meets Barakah,” Mahmoud Sabbagh, director;

Serbia, “Train Driver’s Diary,” Milosa Radovica, director;

Singapore, “Apprentice,” Boo Junfeng, director;

Slovakia, “Eva Nova,”  Marko Škop, director;

Slovenia, “Houston, We Have A Problem!,” Ziga Virc, director;

South Africa, “Call Me Thief,” Daryne Joshua, director;

South Korea, “The Age of Shadows,” Kim Jee-woon, director;

Spain, “Julieta,” Pedro Almodovar, director;

Sweden, “A Man Called Ove,” Hannes Holm, director;

Switzerland, “My Life as a Courgette,” Claude Barras, director;

Taiwan, “Hang in There, Kids!,”  Laha Mebow, director;

Thailand, “Karma,” Kanittha Kwanyu, director;

Turkey, ” Cold of Kalandar,”  Mustafa Kara, director;

Ukraine, “Ukrainian Sheriffs,” Roman Bondarchuk, director;

United Kingdom, “Under the Shadow,”  Babak Anvari, director;

Uruguay, “Breadcrumbs,”  Manane Rodriguez, director;

Venezuela, “From Afar,” Lorenzo Vigas, director;

Vietnam, “Yellow Flowers on the Green Grass,”  Victor Vu, director; and

Yemen, “I Am Nojoom, Age 10 and Divorced,” Khadija Al-Salami, director.

Make your Oscar predictions now; change them until Jan. 24

Be sure to make your Oscar predictions right here. You’ll compete for a place of honor on our leaderboard and a starring role in next year’s Top 24 Users (the two dozen folks who do the best predicting this year’s Oscars). Be sure to read our contest rules.

More News from GoldDerby