Tony Awards nominations 2016: Complete list in all 24 categories

The 70th annual edition of these top theater kudos will be handed out on Sunday, June 12 at New York’s Beacon Theater and air live on CBS. Nominees were determined by 50 theater professionals and winners will be voted on by 863 members of the Broadway community.

Tony Awards nominations 2016:
‘Hamilton’ with record 16, ‘Eclipsed’ & ‘The Humans’ at 6 each


Best Musical
“Bright Star”
“School of Rock”
Shuffle Along

Best Musical Revival 
“The Color Purple”
“Fiddler on the Roof”
“She Loves Me”
“Spring Awakening”

Best Actor (Musical)
Alex Brightman, “School of Rock”
Danny Burstein, “Fiddler on the Roof”
Zachary Levi, “She Loves Me”
Lin-Manuel Miranda, “Hamilton”
Leslie Odom Jr., “Hamilton”

Best Actress (Musical)
Laura Benanti, “She Loves Me”
Carmen Cusack, “Bright Star”
Cynthia Erivo, “The Color Purple”
Jessie Mueller, “Waitress”
Phillipa Soo, “Hamilton”

Best Featured Actor (Musical)
Daveed Diggs, “Hamilton”
Brandon Victor Dixon, “Shuffle Along”
Christopher Fitzgerald, “Waitress”
Jonathan Groff, “Hamilton”
Christopher Jackson, “Hamilton”

Best Featured Actress (Musical)
Danielle Brooks, “The Color Purple”
Renee Elise Goldsberry, “Hamilton”
Jane Krakowski, “She Loves Me”
Jennifer Simard, “Disaster!”
Adrienne Warren, “Shuffle Along”

Best Book of a Musical
“Bright Star” — Steve Martin
“Hamilton” — Lin-Manuel Miranda
“School of Rock” — Julian Fellowes
“Shuffle Along” — George C. Wolfe

Best Original Score (Music and/or Lyrics) Written for the Theatre
“Bright Star” — Steve Martin and Edie Brickell
“Hamilton” — Lin-Manuel Miranda
“School of Rock” — Andrew Lloyd Webber and Glenn Slater
“Waitress” — Sara Bareilles

Best Director (Musical)
“The Color Purple” — John Doyle
“Hamilton” — Thomas Kail
“She Loves Me” — Scott Ellis
“Shuffle Along” — George C. Wolfe
“Spring Awakening” — Michael Arden

Best Choreography
“Dames at Sea” — Randy Skinner
“Hamilton” — Andy Blankenbuehler
“Fliddler on the Roof” — Hofesh Shechter
“On Your Feet” — Sergio Trujillo
“Shuffle Along” — Savion Glover

Best Costume Design (Musical)
“Hamilton” — Paul Tazewell
“She Loves Me” — Jeff Mahshie
“Shuffle Along” — Ann Roth
“Tuck Everlasting” — Gregg Barnes

Best Lighting Design (Musical)
“American Psycho” — Justin Townsend
“Hamilton” — Howell Binkley
“Shuffle Along” — Peggy Eisenhauer and Jules Fisher
“Spring Awakening” — Ben Stanton

Best Scenic Design (Musical)
“American Psycho” — Es Devlin and Finn Ross
“Hamilton” — David Korins
“She Loves Me” — David Rockwell
“Shuffle Along” — Santo Loquasto

Best Orchestrations
“Bright Star” — August Eriksmoen
“Hamilton” — Alex Lacamoire
“She Loves Me” — Larry Hochman
“Shuffle Along” — Daryl Waters

Join the devilish debate about the Tony Awards
going on right now in our message boards


Best Play
“The Father”
“The Humans”
“King Charles III”

Best Play Revival 
“The Crucible”
“Long Day’s Journey into Night”
“Noises Off”
“A View from the Bridge”

Best Actor (Play)
Gabriel Byrne, “Long Day’s Journey into Night”
Jeff Daniels, “Blackbird”
Frank Langella, “The Father”
Tim Pigott-Smith, “King Charles III”
Mark Strong, “A View from the Bridge”

Best Actress (Play)
Jessica Lange, “Long Day’s Journey into Night”
Laurie Metcalf, “Misery”
Lupita Nyong’o, “Eclipsed”
Sophie Okonedo, “The Crucible”
Michelle Williams, “Blackbird”

Best Featured Actor (Play)
Reed Birney, “The Humans”
Bill Camp, “The Crucible”
David Furr, “Noises Off”
Richard Goulding, “King Charles III”
Michael Shannon, “Long Day’s Journey into Night”

Best Featured Actress (Play)
Pascale Armand, “Eclipsed”
Megan Hilty, “Noises Off”
Jayne Houdyshell, “The Humans”
Andrea Martin, “Noises Off”
Saycon Sengbloh, “Eclipsed”

Best Director (Play)
“Eclipsed” — Liesl Tommy
“The Humans” — Joe Mantello
“King Charles III” – Rupert Goold
“Long Day’s Journey into Night” — Jonathan Kent
“A View from the Bridge” — Ivo Van Hove

Best Costume Design (Play)
“Eclipsed” — Clint Ramos
“King Charles III” — Tom Scutt
“Long Day’s Journey into Night” — Jane Greenwood
“Noises Off” — Michael Krass

Best Lighting Design (Play)
“The Crucible” — Jan Versweyveld
“The Humans” — Justin Townsend
“Long Day’s Journey into Night” — Natasha Katz
“A View from the Bridge” — Jan Versweyveld

Best Scenic Design (Play)
“Hughie” — Christopher Oram
“The Humans” — David Zinn
“Therese Raquin” — Beowulf Boritt
“A View from the Bridge” — Jan Versweyveld

More News from GoldDerby