[WATCH] Bill Murray preview: Comedian receives Mark Twain Prize at Kennedy Center on Friday’s funny show

Comedy takes center stage at the Kennedy Center in Washington, D.C. as Bill Murray receives the annual Mark Twain Prize for American Humor. The event was held Sunday and airs Friday night on PBS at 8:00 p.m. ET/PT. (Watch a sneak peek above). Murray follows a long line of comedians and actors to receive the award, including Richard Pryor (1998), Bob Newhart (2002), Carol Burnett (2013), Jay Leno (2014), and Eddie Murphy (2015).

Sign up: Gold Derby’s free newsletter with
experts’ latest predictions and breaking news

Murray began his career in the 1970s as part of the “Saturday Night Live” ensemble. Fellow cast members Jane Curtin and Laraine Newman plus frequent guest host Steve Martin help honor him on this tribute. His film career has included “Stripes,” “Caddyshack,” “Ghostbusters,” “Groundhog Day,” “Rushmore,” “The Royal Tenenbaums,” “Lost in Translation,” and “St. Vincent.”

Others taking part on the special include director Ivan Reitman (“Ghostbusters” director), Sigourney Weaver (“Ghostbusters” co-star), David Letterman and Paul Shaffer (long-time friends from “Late Night” and “Late Show”), comedians Aziz Ansari, Bill Hader, Jimmy Kimmel, actress Emma Stone, and singer Miley Cyrus.

Dish films and TV with Hollywood insiders in our notorious forums

Murray received an Oscar nomination and Golden Globe win for the 2003 movie “Lost in Translation.” Other Globe nominations were for “Ghostbusters” (1985), “Rushmore” (1999), “Hyde Park on Hudson” (2013), and “St. Vincent” (2015). He has also won two Emmy Awards as part of the writing team for “Saturday Night Live” (1977) and for his supporting role on “Olive Kitteridge” (2015).

Make your Golden Globe predictions now; change them until Dec. 12

Make your early Golden Globes TV picks now and tell industry insiders which shows and performers you have out front to win on January 8. You can keep changing them until just before nominations are announced on December 12 at 5 am PT/8 am ET. But it is important to register your initial predictions now both to lock in those all-important starter odds and let Hollywood know who has the inside track for these kudos. Be sure to make your predictions right here. You’ll compete for a place of honor on our leaderboard and a starring role in next year’s Top 24 Users (the two dozen folks who do the best predicting this year’s nominees). Read our contest rules.

More News from GoldDerby