Emmy upset: SAG winner William H. Macy (‘Shameless’) vs. reigning two-time champ Jeffrey Tambor (‘Transparent’)

The SAG Awards served up the first big shocker of the television awards season when William H. Macy (“Shameless”) took home the Best Comedy Actor prize over last year’s winner Jeffrey Tambor (“Transparent”). Does this mean that Macy could finally edge out Tambor in their third face-off at the Emmys?

Not necessarily. Macy couldn’t translate his 2015 SAG win into an Emmy. Indeed, were he to do so this year, he’d be only the sixth comedy actor to follow up a SAG Award with an Emmy.

The first to do so was John Lithgow (“3rd Rock from the Sun”) in 1997. Michael J. Fox (“Spin City”) received goodbye hugs from both groups in 2000. Tony Shalhoub (“Monk”) was able to pull off this double play in 2005. Alec Baldwin (“30 Rock”) did it two years running (2008, 2009). And Ty Burrell (“Modern Family”) did it with his Best Comedy Supporting Actor Emmy win in 2014.

The good news for Macy is he’s a two-time SAG Award winner. Both Fox and Shalhoub followed up their second SAG Award with an Emmy. However, while Baldwin was able to win the SAG/Emmy combo twice he was the guild pick for a record seven years in a row (2007-2013).

But Macy could benefit from the rule change at the Emmys. Winners are now decided by a plurality vote, rather than the ranked system that was in place when he lost to Tambor for the past two years running.

Be sure to make your Emmy predictions. Weigh in now with your picks so that Hollywood insiders can see how their TV shows and performers are faring in our Emmy odds. You can keep changing your predictions until just before nominees are announced on July 13. And join in the fierce debate over the 2017 Emmys taking place right now with Hollywood insiders in our TV forums. Read more Gold Derby entertainment news.

More News from GoldDerby