2017 Gold Derby Film Award nominations announced live tonight! Will your favorites make the cut? [WATCH]

The 15th Annual Gold Derby Film Award nominations will be announced live tonight, on Wednesday February 1, at 5:00pm PT/8:00pm ET at the video link above. These awards are decided by hundreds of YOU, our Gold Derby readers, who register to choose the best films of the 2016 calendar year.

Oscar Best Picture Gallery:
History of Every Academy Award Winning Movie

From 2002 to 2010, voting was conducted via secret ballot through our message boards, and during that time, five out of our nine Best Picture winners matched the Oscars’ choice.

Voting moved to our quick and easy predictions center in 2011, and our users agreed with the academy for three years in a row, picking “The Artist” (2011), “Argo” (2012), and “12 Years a Slave” (2013) as the Best Pictures of the Year. But our users deviated in 2014, picking “Boyhood” for Best Picture and Best Director (Richard Linklater) instead of eventual Oscar-champ “Birdman.” We went our own way again in 2015, giving “Mad Max: Fury Road” eight awards including Picture and Director (George Miller).

All 14 of Gold Derby’s previous Best Picture champs are listed below, in addition to our special award honoring the best film of the last decade (2000-2009). And you can see the complete history of the Gold Derby Film Awards here.

2002: “Chicago”
2003: “The Lord of the Rings: The Return of the King”
2004: “Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind”
2005: “Brokeback Mountain”
2006: “The Departed”
2007: “No Country for Old Men”
2008: “WALL-E”
2009: “The Hurt Locker”
Decade (2000-2009): “The Lord of the Rings: The Return of the King”
2010: “The Social Network”
2011: “The Artist”
2012: “Argo”
2013: “12 Years a Slave”
2014: “Boyhood”

More News from GoldDerby