2017 Gold Derby Film Award nominations to be announced Wednesday, Feb. 1 — here’s how to watch

Voting for the 2017 Gold Derby Film Award nominations ended on Sunday night, January 29, not long after Hollywood’s acting union honored the best in their field at the Screen Actors Guild Awards. But while it’s special to be honored by your peers, no one knows Hollywood awards better than the hundreds of readers who decide the Gold Derby Awards. Our official nominations will be announced during a live webcast here at Gold Derby on Wednesday, February 1, at 5:00pm PT/8:00pm ET.

Sign up to get Gold Derby’s free newsletter
with experts’ latest predictions and breaking news

These are the 15th Gold Derby Film Awards, not counting the end-of-decade edition we held awarding the best achievements from 2000-2009. From 2002 to 2010, voting was conducted via secret ballot through our message boards, and during that time five out of our nine Best Picture winners matched the Oscars’ choices.

Voting moved to our quick and easy predictions center in 2011, and our users agreed with the academy for three years in a row, picking “The Artist” (2011), “Argo” (2012), and “12 Years a Slave” (2013) as Best Picture of the Year. But our users deviated in 2014, picking “Boyhood” for Best Picture and Best Director (Richard Linklater) instead of eventual Oscar-champ “Birdman.” We went our own way again in 2015, giving “Mad Max: Fury Road” eight awards including Picture and Director (George Miller) over the academy’s choices, “Spotlight” and Alejandro Gonzalez Inarritu (“The Revenant”).

Look below for all 14 of Gold Derby’s previous Best Picture champs, in addition to our special award honoring the best film of the last decade. And you can check out the complete history of the Gold Derby Film Awards here.

Oscar Best Picture Gallery:
History of Every Academy Award Winning Movie

2002: “Chicago”
2003: “The Lord of the Rings: The Return of the King”
2004: “Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind”
2005: “Brokeback Mountain”
2006: “The Departed”
2007: “No Country for Old Men”
2008: “WALL-E”
2009: “The Hurt Locker”
Decade (2000-2009): “The Lord of the Rings: The Return of the King”
2010: “The Social Network”
2011: “The Artist”
2012: “Argo”
2013: “12 Years a Slave”
2014: “Boyhood”
2015: “Mad Max: Fury Road”

More News from GoldDerby