Gold Derby Film Awards 2017: Vote now for the best films and performances of the year in 22 categories!

Will this year’s Gold Derby Film Awards reflect the Oscar’s eventual choices? Or should they avoid this year’s presumptive academy favorites entirely? The choice is yours. You can vote for the nominees in the 15th Annual Gold Derby Film Awards starting right now.

Sign up to get Gold Derby’s free newsletter
with experts’ latest predictions and breaking news

To vote, visit our predictions center. Then scroll down to “Gold Derby Film Awards Nominations 2017” and click the green box to the right that says “VOTE” to enter your picks in as many or as few categories as you like. Select your top three favorites in each category, arranged in order of preference. Your number-one choice will get three points, your number-two choice gets two points, and your number-three choice gets one point. The top five scorers in each category will be the final nominees.

There’s one exception: Best Picture. There will be 10 nominees in that category, so you can vote for your top five favorites, with five points going to your number-one choice down to one point for your fifth-place choice.

Dish the Oscars with Hollywood insiders in our notorious forums

Haven’t seen all the contenders yet? Don’t worry. You can vote now and edit your ballot as often as you like until voting closes on January 29, at 11:59 p.m. Eastern Time. Choose your favorite films and performances in 22 categories now. Nominees will be announced on February 1.

From 2002 to 2010, voting was conducted via secret ballot through our message boards, and during that time, five out of our nine Best Picture winners matched the Oscars’ choice.

Voting moved to our quick and easy predictions center in 2011, and our users agreed with the academy for three years in a row, picking “The Artist” (2011), “Argo” (2012), and “12 Years a Slave” (2013) as the Best Pictures of the Year. But our users deviated in 2014, picking “Boyhood” for Best Picture and Best Director (Richard Linklater) instead of eventual Oscar-champ “Birdman.” We went our own way again in 2015, giving “Mad Max: Fury Road” eight awards including Picture and Director (George Miller).

Oscar Best Picture Gallery:
History of Every Academy Award Winning Movie

All 14 of Gold Derby’s previous Best Picture champs are listed below, in addition to our special award honoring the best film of the last decade (2000-2009). And you can see the complete history of the Gold Derby Film Awards here.

2002: “Chicago”
2003: “The Lord of the Rings: The Return of the King”
2004: “Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind”
2005: “Brokeback Mountain”
2006: “The Departed”
2007: “No Country for Old Men”
2008: “WALL-E”
2009: “The Hurt Locker”
Decade (2000-2009): “The Lord of the Rings: The Return of the King”
2010: “The Social Network”
2011: “The Artist”
2012: “Argo”
2013: “12 Years a Slave”
2014: “Boyhood”
2015: “Mad Max: Fury Road”

Vote for the Gold Derby Film Awards Here

Be sure to vote for the 2017 Gold Derby Film Awards. Weigh in now with your picks to help us choose the best of the best. You can keep changing your votes right up until 11:59 p.m. ET on January 29. And join in the fierce debate over the Oscars taking place right now with Hollywood insiders in our forums.

More News from GoldDerby