2017 Latin Grammy nominations: Residente leads with 9, Maluma at 7, Shakira with 6

Residente earned a leading nine nominations for the 18th annual Latin Grammy Awards, followed by Maluma with seven and Shakira at six. A trio of acts – Kevin Jiménez ADG, Juanes, and Mon Laferte — earned five apiece while a half dozen more — Luis Fonsi, Vicente García, Nicky Jam, Natalia Lafourcade, Danay Suarez, and Daddy Yankee — contend in four categories. The slate of contenders was announced on Sept. 26 while winners will be revealed during the three-hour ceremony on Nov. 16 that will air live from the MGM Grand Garden Arena in Las Vegas on Univision beginning at 5 p.m. PT/8:00 p.m. ET.

Nominations were culled from nearly 10,000 submissions across 48 categories that were released during the eligibility period (July 1, 2016 through May 31, 2017). The final round of online voting by members of the Latin recording academy kicks off on Sept. 28.

In making the announcement, President/CEO of The Latin Recording Academy Gabriel Abaroa Jr. noted, “Many of this year’s nominees have expanded beyond traditional genres to create different fusions through creative collaborations. These artists, producers, and writers, united by artistic excellence and devotion to their craft, have come together to deliver eclectic music that has resulted in worldwide success.”

SIGN UP for Gold Derby’s free newsletter with latest predictions

Below, the nominations in the four general field categories. To see the rest of the slate visit LatinGrammy.com

Album Of The Year
“Salsa Big Band” – Rubén Blades and Roberto Delgado & Orquesta
“Obras Son Amores” – Antonio Carmona
“A La Mar” –  Vicente García
“Fénix” – Nicky Jam
“Mis Planes Son Amarte” – Juanes
“La Trenza” – Mon Laferte
“Musas (Un Homenaje Al Folclore Latinoamericano En Manos De Los Macorinos, Vol. 1)” – Natalia Lafourcade
“Residente” – Residente
“El Dorado” – Shakira
“Palabras Manuales” – Danay Suarez

Record Of The Year
“La Flor De La Canela” – Rubén Blades
“El Surco”  – Jorge Drexler
“Quiero Que Vuelvas” – Alejandro Fernández
Despacito” – Luis Fonsi featuring Daddy Yankee
“El Ratico”  – Juanes featuring Kali Uchis
“Amárrame” – Mon Laferte featuring Juanes
“Felices Los 4”  – Maluma
“Vente Pa’ Ca” – Ricky Martin featuring Maluma
“Guerra”  – Residente
“Chantaje” – Shakira featuring Maluma

Song Of The Year (A Songwriter’s Award)
“Amárrame” – Mon Laferte, songwriter (Mon Laferte featuring Juanes)
“Chantaje” – Kevin Mauricio Jiménez Londoño, Bryan Snaider Lezcano Chaverra, Joel Antonio López Castro, Maluma and Shakira, songwriters (Shakira featuring Maluma)
“Desde Que Estamos Juntos” – Descemer Bueno and Melendi, songwriters (Melendi)
“Despacito” – Daddy Yankee, Erika Ender and Luis Fonsi, songwriters (Luis Fonsi featuring Daddy Yankee)
“Ella” – Ricardo Arjona, songwriter (Ricardo Arjona)
“Felices Los 4” – Mario Cáceres, Kevin Mauricio Jiménez Londoño, Maluma, Servando Primera, Stiven Rojas and Bryan Snaider Lezcano Chaverra, songwriters (Maluma)
“Guerra” – Residente and Jeff Trooko, songwriters (Residente)
“La Fortuna” – Diana Fuentes and Tommy Torres, songwriters (Diana Fuentes featuring Tommy Torres)
“Tú Sí Sabes Quererme” – Natalia Lafourcade, songwriter (Natalia Lafourcade featuring Los Macorinos)
“Vente Pa’ Ca ” – Nermin Harambasic, Maluma, Ricky Martin, Mauricio Montaner, Ricky Montaner, Lars Pedersen, Carl Ryden, Justin Stein, Ronny Vidar Svendsen and Anne Judith Stokke Wik, songwriters (Ricky Martin featuring Maluma)

Best New Artist
Paula Arenas
Vicente García
Martina La Peligrosa
Mau y Ricky
Sofía Reyes
Danay Suarez
Sebastián Yatra

DISCUSS the Latin Grammys with Hollywood insiders in our notorious forums

More News from GoldDerby