2017 Outer Critics Circle Awards: Full list of nominations

Nominees for the 67th annual Outer Critics Circle Awards were announced on April 25. Winners will be revealed on May 8 with the presentation of the prizes to made at a gala reception at Sardi’s on May 25. (Read the full report on the OCC nominations.)

A Doll’s House, Part 2

A Bronx Tale
Come From Away
Groundhog Day
Holiday Inn

If I Forget
A Life
Love, Love, Love

The Band’s Visit
Himself and Nora
Kid Victory

BEST REVIVAL OF A PLAY (Broadway or Off-Broadway)
The Front Page
The Little Foxes
The Price

BEST REVIVAL OF A MUSICAL (Broadway or Off-Broadway)
Finian’s Rainbow
Hello, Dolly!
Miss Saigon
Sunset Boulevard
Sweeney Todd

Outer Critics Circle nominations:
‘Anastasia’ leads as Tony Awards frontrunners ineligible

BEST DIRECTOR OF A PLAY (Broadway or Off-Broadway)
Lila Neugebauer – The Wolves
Jack O’Brien – The Front Page
Daniel Sullivan – The Little Foxes
Rebecca Taichman – Indecent
Kate Whoriskey – Sweat

BEST DIRECTOR OF A MUSICAL (Broadway or Off-Broadway)
Christopher Ashley – Come From Away
David Cromer – The Band’s Visit
Darko Tresnjak – Anastasia
Matthew Warchus – Groundhog Day
Jerry Zaks – Hello, Dolly!

BEST ACTOR IN A PLAY (Broadway or Off-Broadway)
Daniel Craig – Othello
Michael Emerson – Wakey, Wakey
Kevin Kline – Present Laughter
David Oyelowo – Othello
David Hyde Pierce – A Life

BEST ACTRESS IN A PLAY (Broadway or Off-Broadway)
Janie Dee – Linda
Sally Field – The Glass Menagerie
Allison Janney – Six Degrees of Separation
Laura Linney – The Little Foxes
Laurie Metcalf – A Doll’s House, Part 2

BEST ACTOR IN A MUSICAL (Broadway or Off-Broadway)
Christian Borle – Falsettos
Nick Cordero – A Bronx Tale
Andy Karl – Groundhog Day
David Hyde Pierce – Hello, Dolly!
Tony Shalhoub – The Band’s Visit

BEST ACTRESS IN A MUSICAL (Broadway or Off-Broadway)
Christy Altomare – Anastasia
Christine Ebersole – War Paint
Katrina Lenk – The Band’s Visit
Patti LuPone – War Paint
Bette Midler – Hello, Dolly!

BEST FEATURED ACTOR IN A PLAY (Broadway or Off-Broadway)
Michael Aronov – Oslo
Danny DeVito – The Price
Nathan Lane – The Front Page
Richard Thomas – The Little Foxes
Richard Topol – Indecent

BEST FEATURED ACTRESS IN A PLAY (Broadway or Off-Broadway)
Johanna Day – Sweat
Jayne Houdyshell – A Doll’s House, Part 2
Katrina Lenk – Indecent
Nana Mensah – Man From Nebraska
Cynthia Nixon – The Little Foxes

John Bolton – Anastasia
Jeffry Denman Kid Victory
Gavin Creel – Hello, Dolly!
Shuler Hensley – Sweet Charity
Andrew Rannells – Falsettos

Kate Baldwin – Hello, Dolly!
Stephanie J. Block – Falsettos
Jenn Colella – Come From Away
Caroline O’Connor – Anastasia
Mary Beth Peil – Anastasia

Sign up to get Gold Derby’s free newsletter with
experts’ latest predictions and breaking news

BEST BOOK OF A MUSICAL (Broadway or Off-Broadway)
Terrence McNally – Anastasia
Itamar Moses – The Band’s Visit
Chazz Palminteri – A Bronx Tale
Danny Rubin – Groundhog Day
Irene Sankoff & David Hein – Come From Away

BEST SCORE (Broadway or Off-Broadway)
Stephen Flaherty & Lynn Ahrens – Anastasia
Alan Menken & Glenn Slater – A Bronx Tale
Tim Minchin – Groundhog Day
Irene Sankoff & David Hein – Come From Away
David Yazbek – The Band’s Visit

Doug Besterman – Anastasia
Larry Blank – Holiday Inn
Bill Elliott & Greg Anthony Rassen – Bandstand
Larry Hochman – Hello, Dolly!
Jamshied Sharifi – The Band’s Visit

BEST CHOREOGRAPHER (Broadway or Off-Broadway)
Andy Blankenbuehler – Bandstand
Warren Carlyle – Hello, Dolly!
Savion Glover – Shuffle Along
Kelly Devine – Come From Away
Denis Jones – Holiday Inn

BEST COSTUME DESIGN (Broadway or Off-Broadway)
Linda Cho – Anastasia
Susan Hilferty – Present Laughter
Santo Loquasto – Hello, Dolly!
Ann Roth – Shuffle Along
Catherine Zuber – War Paint

Can Bette Midler and company break the ‘Hello, Dolly!’ Tony Awards curse?

BEST LIGHTING DESIGN (Broadway or Off-Broadway)
Christopher Akerlind – Indecent
Donald Holder – Anastasia
Natasha Katz – Hello, Dolly!
Bradley King – Natasha, Pierre & The Great Comet of 1812
Kenneth Posner – War Paint

BEST PROJECTION DESIGN (Broadway or Off-Broadway)
Duncan McLean – Privacy
Jared Mezzocchi – Vietgone
Benjamin Pearcy for 59 Productions – Oslo
Aaron Rhyne – Anastasia
Tal Yarden – Indecent

BEST SET DESIGN (Broadway or Off-Broadway)
Alexander Dodge – Anastasia
Nigel Hook – The Play That Goes Wrong
Mimi Lien – Natasha, Pierre & The Great Comet of 1812
Scott Pask – The Little Foxes
Douglas W. Schmidt – The Front Page

Gareth Fry & Pete Malkin – The Encounter
Gareth Owen – Come From Away
Nicholas Pope – Natasha, Pierre & The Great Comet of 1812
Matt Stine – Sweeney Todd
Nevin Steinberg – Bandstand

BEST SOLO PERFORMANCE (Broadway or Off-Broadway)
Ed Dixon – Georgie: My Adventures with George Rose
Marin Ireland – On the Exhale
Sarah Jones – Sell / Buy / Date
Judith Light – All the Ways to Say I Love You
Simon McBurney – The Encounter

JOHN GASSNER AWARD (Presented for an American play, preferably by a new playwright)
Jaclyn Backhaus – Men on Boats
Sarah DeLappe – The Wolves
Paola Lázaro – Tell Hector I Miss Him
Qui Nguyen – Vietgone
Bess Wohl Small Mouth Sounds

Predict the Tony Awards nominees now; change them until May 2

Be sure to make your Tony Awards predictions. Weigh in now with your picks so that Broadway insiders can see how their shows and performers are faring in our Tony odds. You can keep changing your predictions until just before nominees are announced on May 2. And join in the fierce debate over the 2017 Tony Awards taking place right now in our theater forums.

More News from GoldDerby